And the best wife award goes to…

….

Well, shoot.  I neglected to mention that we just celebrated our 5 year anniversary a week ago.  October 3rd is our lucky day!

FIVE YEARS!

That’s like… longer than one supposedly takes to get a bachelor’s degree.  (Or so I’ve heard…)

That’s like… half a century!

I have done wedding flashbacks here and here if you want to take a look.

So I’ve decided to celebrate in list form (with a little help from Pinterest):

That’s…

  • a lot of finding endless dirty socks
  • a lot of bacon grease (that man is obsessed)

  • a lot of used kleenexes (mine– bad habit oops!)
  • a lot of laundry (he thinks I have nothing to do all day)
  • a lot of kisses and snuggles
  • a lot of beautiful bouquets of flowers

  • a lot of being obnoxious from boredom on road trips (what? he won’t let me driiiive!!)

  • a lot of craziness (guilty)

  • a lot of bed hogging (also guilty– aren’t I a delight?)

And in 5 years we’ve…

  • adopted not one but two dog children

  • moved more times than I care to count (1..2..3..4…5… yeah 5.  Don’t ask.)
  • bought our first house
  • made it through a broken thumb (his– thank you dirt biking)
  • suffered though a serious bout of food poisoning (I really thought I was dying)
  • laughed until our sides ached
  • managed not to kill each other (if you’re married/in a long term relationship you know exactly what I mean)

  • gone to Mexico

  • gone to Hawaii

This year, he gave me these beautiful pink roses.  Pink roses were the first flowers he gave me while were dating.  Such a sweetheart.

And this pretty pearl pendant.  Pearls have become his anniversary tradition gift to me.

So as you can see, being married is pretty great.  Sometimes you have to compromise and sometimes you have to admit you’re wrong.

But it’s kind of like getting to have a sleepover every night with your best friend, every single night of the week.

Love you Jer.  More than words can say.

12 thoughts on “And the best wife award goes to…

  1. Aww, I LOVED this, Meg! Happy Anniversary to you and Jer! I remember when you first started dating…It’s crazy how fast time flies!

    Gosh, you’ve been through so much together! I literally laughed out loud at the bed cartography! So funny. I have no doubt that my future husband will feel exactly the same way. ;-p And yay for adopting the cutest “kids” ever. I still need to meet Jax! When I’m home at Thanksgiving, let’s make that happen. Oh, and perhaps a lunch or dinner date too? I’m going to be in Boise for a week! Yay!

    I loved our phone chat the other day. Let’s make those more frequent, k? xoxo ❤

    • I really can’t believe it’s been so long already. TIme really does fly.

      Yes, come and meet Jax and let’s definitely have a dinner date! I’m pretty sure I’m leaving for thanksgiving so let me know when you’ll be here and we’ll work something out.

      Yes, more phone or gchats! I’m here so just let me know when you’re available. Miss you!

    • Thank you! Wow, you are a champion for tolerating a bed hogger. Sometimes, my husband sleeps diagonally, and my feet get all claustrophobic!

    • Thank you! We don’t actually get that too much any more, maybe they’ve all given up. 😉 Don’t you worry babies are right around the corner for us!

Leave a Reply

