Chunky Tomato Vegetable Soup

For those of you who are wondering how I am doing, I’m doing ok.  After taking it easy by walking with the dogs and some light yoga, I find myself ready to go back to the gym for some easy workouts.  My goal is consistency right now, not intensity.

I’ve been trying to focus on my overall health to help my body from having to work any harder than it needs to.  It’s been somewhat of an up and down experience, but I’m trying to stay positive and focus on my well being.

I have been focusing my attention on the things I love: cooking, baking, trying new recipes, finding amusing things on Pinterest to make me laugh, watching funny movies that I’ve watched a dozen times and laugh even harder anticipating the best parts.

I’ve also been focusing on school, despite that Chemistry has to be one of the dullest subjects, I’m forcing myself to be interested enough to do well.

Oh, OH!  And I got to hold my dearest friend’s 4 day old baby.  So small and squishy.  I wish I’d gotten a picture, but it was just one of those moments that you remember in your heart, not on your computer.

Friends, life is full of ups and downs and you just have to play the hand you’re dealt.

Despite the fact that it’s still in the 80’s here, it’s officially fall.  You know how at the beginning of fall you’re just waiting to pull out those sweaters and wearing them while it’s a little too warm to really be necessary?  But you can justify them since the air conditioning is still freezing inside.

Despite cooking real meals again, it’s not always easy to get vegetables in some days.  And all I’ve been wanting lately is soup, which can be a great way to sneak in some veggies.  I make a big pot on Saturday and it will last me about a week.

In my mind, I call this spaghetti soup, since I used Italian seasoned tomatoes, it smells a lot like spaghetti sauce.

Chunky Tomato Vegetable soup

(adapted from Butterflyfood)

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 cups carrot chips or baby carrots, chopped

2 stalks of celery, chopped

1 tsp thyme

sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

2 (14 oz.) cans of diced Italian tomatoes

2-3 cans chicken broth

1 c. whole wheat pasta

2 roasted pepper and asiago chicken sausages (optional)

In a large pot heat the olive oil over medium heat and add the onion, carrot, celery, garlic, salt, pepper and thyme and cook until soft.  Add the tomatoes and chicken broth and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Add the pasta and continue cooking for another 8-10 minutes.  Add the sausage about 2 minutes before the pasta is done.

4 thoughts on “Chunky Tomato Vegetable Soup

  1. Mmm I must make more soup now that it’s getting cold! It’s already in the 50s over here 😦 and it’s been raining non-stop for two days! I’m definitely NOT a fall/winter girl!

  2. I’m glad you’re doing okay, Meg! You have such a good attitude, and I know that your positivity will work wonders in helping you navigate this experience. You’re right–we have to play the hand we’re dealt in life. It’s not easy. But it does make us stronger. ❤

    This soup looks deeeeelicious! I haven't made soup since last winter, but I've definitely been craving it this past week. The temperatures are starting to drop into the low 70's/high 60's. Definitely soup weather for this sun-loving girl!

    HUGS to you, Hunter and Jax! xoxo

    • I plan on posting more soup recipes soon! I have been obsessed with soup lately since it’s an easy way to get veggies plus lots of leftovers for busy days!

Leave a Reply

