July Foodie Pen Pals!

I’ve been hearing whispers about foodie pen pals but I wanted to make sure I could commit to sending as well as receiving a wonderful box!

For those of you who haven’t heard of foodie pen pals, it’s just as the name implies.  You sign up, send a box full of foodie goodies to the person you’ve been assigned to and in turn, you get your own box of surprises in the mail!  It’s a great way to meet new bloggers and try some new things!  But, you do not have to be a blogger to participate! You can go visit The Lean Green Bean to find out more!

This month, my box was sent to me by Cherie of Cherie Runs This.  I am so glad I discovered her blog, this girl is freakin awesome!  Go check her out!

Look at these funny stickers she added to the box!

My motto: you can never be too rich or have too many cookies.

Home is where the hot fudge is.

Seriously, I LOOOVE hot fudge.  I cannot keep it in the house because I will just eat it with a spoon in a day!

Anyways, I ripped into the box with such enthusiasm, can’t you tell??

The first things I saw were an envelope and a reusable bag from Trader Joe’s!  I had mentioned to Cherie that sadly, the closest Trader Joe’s to me was 8 hours away.

Inside the envelope were stickers and a sweet note and it listed all of the items in my box.  She made sure that:

“… it’s MANGO free!”

I love re-usable bags, if only because I don’t have to fuss with recycling all of the plastic bags, plus they hold a lot more!

Cookie Butter:  When I spotted this I thought I’d died and gone to heaven.  I’d always wanted to try this stuff!

It was different than what I was expecting: a more sugar cookie flavor.   But when I read the description it made sense:

“A deliciously unusual spread reminiscent of gingerbread and made with crushed biscuits.”

Depsite my expectations, it is delicious!  I think the label says something about spreading it on things, but I’ve just been eating it by the spoonful. 🙂

Apple Strawberry fruit wrap:

This little fruit wrap was quite tasty!  The flavor was very true to real apple and strawberry.

And the nutrition stats weren’t terrible!  I mean, fruit is mostly sugar anyways.  How do you think I’m so sweet?  (heh, heh.)

Swiss milk chocolate:  Oh my heavens, be still my heart.

This came in handy during a late-night cramming study session!  😉

Artichoke hearts: Cherie certainly did her homework!  Yummm.

I can’t wait to add these to my salads!

Toasted Coconut Cookie Thins:  I don’t know if I’ve really mentioned this, but I am a HUGE fan of coconut.

These cookies were crispy and light, not too sweet, but packed full of coconut flavor!  It was like eating a piece of a tropical island.

THANK YOU Cherie!!

*************************************

Last but not least, here is a reader, Emma, who agreed to do a special guest post about the box  I sent to her!  

How cute is this picture?  She officially puts aaall of mine to shame.  Here’s Emma!

Every item I received for my first-time-experience July foodie pen-pal package was new to me!

They were either things I hadn’t seen/heard of, or things I’ve wanted to try, but never got around to purchasing.  I didn’t get to taste everything though – my other half got to the trail mix bars by Mariani (sesame and a cranberry) before I could, but that shows excitement!    (<—this sounds exactly like what mine would do too.)

1 – Chocolove Raspberry in Dark Chocolate bar – I’m not a huge “sweets” fan, but this was wonderful!  The texture had crunch to it, and it wasn’t overly sweet (55% cocoa) and had sprinklings of pink raspberry inside – beautiful packaging and chocolate.

2 – Seasnax (roasted seaweed snack classic olive).  As the grab & go package says, “strangely addictive”, very true…if you like sushi, these are great…even if you don’t like sushi – they’re still addicting, they don’t have an over-powering “seaweed” flavor, probably because of the nice saltiness and olive oil.

3 – Orville Redenbacher’s natural whole grain buttery salt and cracked pepper popcorn – great!  I love cracked pepper and who doesn’t love butter – perfect combo..this was the mini bag package – perfect size!

4 – Blue Diamond butter toffee roasted almonds – these are good to have on hand for “sweet” cravings…they’re healthier than pure candy and they satisfy for sure.

5 – Food Should Taste Good cheddar chips; lot of stuff going on in this cracker/chip – cheddar, quinoa, flax, sunflower, sesame sees, soy, brown rice, tortilla chip/cracker.  The first bite was kind of, “hmmm…” then the sesame seed flavor kicked in (which I personally love) mixed with the cheddar is a nice combo – the texture’s great too – more like a cracker.

6 – Peanut Butter and Co. the Bee’s Knees peanut butter with honey – this is the main thing I never got around to purchasing myself, and have always been curious – no disappointments!  The honey gives the peanut butter a different sweetness from the usual sugar…again, not overly sweet, it’s a nice thick peanut butter, not oily..very good.

7 – Luna bar, peanut butter cookie – I’ve never had a Luna bar before – very impressive for a “whole nutrition” bar.  The texture was great – rice crispiness on top, peanut butter flavor on the bottom.

8 – Stretch Island Fruit Co. all-natural fruit strip (cherry and strawberry) – these were fun…took me back to grade school, only these are waaay better!

9 – Al Dente basil fettuccine noodles – they look and smell fantastic – dinner tonight perhaps?

Thank you Meg for a wonderful AND healthy variety of snacks (and meals!)  This is the perfect start-out to the foodie pen-pal experience!

Thank you Emma for writing a great little post!  I am thrilled that you enjoyed everything!  🙂

Until next time!

10 thoughts on “July Foodie Pen Pals!

Leave a Reply

