Making habits

Have you ever noticed how tough it is to make a new habit stick, but how easy it is to break a habit??

Life is so unfair.  

I’ve been so bad about getting to the gym before noon lately.  It’s a little ridiculous.

Who are these people who naturally wake up at 6 or 7am?  Without an alarm clock?

My husband says that when I fall asleep, I fall into a coma.  That I remain motionless and in the exact same position all night.  I think that might be a little bit of an exaggeration.  But not much.

Waking up is so hard.  I can’t be the only one who thinks this?

Thank you Zooey, you get it.

So despite the fact that I’m a terrible morning person, this morning was surprisingly productive.  I cooked tons of meals for this week and portioned them out for myself.  This is a huge pain in the butt.  It really doesn’t take much time, but it’s the action of setting aside the time and actually doing it that seems to be the hard part.

I swear it is the easiest way to save myself when I just want to grab something quick.  Because let’s face it, not being in school has kept me pretty busy.

Not.

I’m bored.  When’s summer school start?  (Two weeks, if you really wanted to know.) Famous last words.

Please note: I do not think I came up with this idea.  Not in the slightest.  However, it’s still a good idea.  Try it sometime.

I’ve been reading a new book recently:  Divergent by Veronica Roth.

(source)

It’s pretty good.  It is a dystopian novel, like Hunger Games, which is why I figured I’d be interested in it.  I have to admit, at first I reeeally wanted it to be a continuation of Hunger Games which, of course, it isn’t.

But now that I’ve stuck with it, I’m actually really enjoying it.

Wanna see what I’ve been eating lately?

Sooo many egg whites. And a double fiber English muffin with strawberry jam. How did that get in there?? 😉

Sauteed spinach, egg whites, strawberries.

Sometimes salads are a hit or miss for me.  I choose bad combinations and find myself picking stuff out.  This one was a winner though!

Chopped salmon burger, romaine, spinach, grape tomatoes, green pepper, cucumber and feta with poppyseed dressing (not pictured).

This is my “berry” favorite new snack.  Hee, hee, hee.

Strawberries, plain Greek yogurt, drizzle of honey

Green smoothies never get old for me.  However, I couldn’t ever have one for a “meal”.

Spinach, pineapple, banana, water, milk, vanilla protein and flax.

And because woman cannot survive on chicken alone:

Al Fresco roasted pepper & asiago chicken sausage. Yum!

Chicken sausage sauteed with spinach and sweet onion. Plus half a sweet potato with a smear of smart balance and plenty of cinnamon.

Look how big Jax has gotten.  He’s all legs and ears.  And quite feisty.  Though very sweet at the same time.

18 thoughts on “Making habits

  1. Have you ever had the Alfresco Sundried Tomato Chicken Sausage? Oh gosh its probably the best thing in the world 🙂

    Trust me..getting up at 7 a.m. is no fun but I know if I don’t do it first thing working out just aint going to happen.

    • I don’t know if I’ve tried that one! They have so many great flavors!
      I’ve gotten up early for workouts in the past… just lately it’s been so hard! I know what you mean though, it is a LOT harder to make it happen if it doesn’t happen in the morning. 😉

  2. So much to love in this post! ❤ First, I am the queen of sleeping in and getting to the gym past noon. I actually find that my workouts are better if I wake up, eat, digest and then get my sweat on. If I go first thing in the morning, I tucker out after 30 minutes. Haha. That said, my goal for next week is to be out of bed by 8:30. This is a big deal for me, Meg! (Talk about trying to break bad habits—SO hard!). IF I can do it, I'll probably be hitting the gym around 11:00. 🙂

    I love Zooey Deschanel…Hollywood needs more quirky actresses like her that are willing to step outside the mold. And your eats look delicious! The strawberry love is making me happy, and so is the Al Fresco shout out (I love the spinach and feta flavor!).

    Love you more though!! Hugs!! Just a little more than a month before I see you!

  3. Nice blog! I find my body naturally needs about 9 hours of sleep per night, at least, so these people that say they 7 hours is enough are crazy to me!! For the past two years I’ve got out of bed at 6am to make it to the gym before work, but since becoming a PT I’m now working out at 10-11am, so I have more time to sleep in. I’m loving it! Except for today… where I had to get up at 6.30am after getting to bed at midnight because I was training a client late. Ew.

    • Thank you so much for visiting! I’ve really been enjoying yours, especially the big legs post!! Oh darn, my legs are just fat. :/
      Ouch, getting up at 6:30 after going to bed at midnight?? I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

