A Story of Whiplash

Here’s a little story for you:

Once upon a time, I got rear ended.  Pretty hard.

It sucked.

I felt like I got hit by a truck the next day.

But I got my car fixed eventually and went on my merry way.

I felt alright, some body and neck soreness and headaches.  But I figured it was just from working out so hard.

I figured I had whiplash, but that a little heat and ice would surely make it go away.

Fast forward to a month later.

Headaches more often, but I brushed it off as sinus allergies.

As I was leaving the gym, there was a free chiropractor screening.

I thought, “ok, let’s see how bad my neck really is”.

The first thing the woman asked after the scan was if I had been in a car accident recently.

Why yesssss….

Because, she said, I had pretty bad whiplash.

Crap.

A few vertebrae in my neck had been knocked out of place, a few more in my upper back were twisted, my neck’s curvature was practically non-existent (though that isn’t necessarily from the accident) and I had dislocated a few ribs.

Here is what the normal curve of the neck should look like.

Here is an x-ray similar to what my neck looks like. (source)

(source)

The worst part has to be the dislocated ribs.  Anytime I sneeze or laugh or yawn or take a deep breath, there’s a sharp pain in my back.  I always forget ribs go around the back too, not just the front.

Of course the anatomy nerd that I am, I was thrilled by the anatomy lesson my chiropractor gave me about my spine and how it affects the nerves that go to all parts of the body.

Let me just say this: I was pretty skeptical of the chiropractor. I’d never been to one and kind of assumed they were a lot of bogus.  I think like any medical professional, there are a lot of misconceptions.  I really didn’t understand what they did until I visited myself.

The chiropractor I visited is actually really great, which is good because I’ll be spending a lot of time there.

Needless to say, he’s told me to take it easy for a little while so that my adjustments will stay in place while the muscles and ligaments heal.

So where does that leave LiveFit?

Let me say this: LiveFit works.  I’ve definitely seen my hard work pay off already.

However, since I lost a few days after my accident and here and there from debilitating head/neck aches, I wasn’t able to keep up with the workouts as much as I would have liked.

My plan for the last couple weeks has been to go back to phase 2 when I’m more on the mend.

And don’t worry: I am on the mend. 🙂

15 thoughts on “A Story of Whiplash

  1. Hello my lovely Meg!

    Oh my goodness girl! Thank you for sharing your story. I just want to give you the biggest hug EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Please take care of yourself. Don’t push yourself to get back on the LiveFit routines before you are absolutely ready! XO

    I love you girl

  2. Aww, Meg! I’m so sorry that you’ve had to experience this, but I’m relieved that the chiropractor saw it before it worsened. What will they be doing to speed up the healing process?

    I think scaling back on Live Fit, and re-visiting Phase II (when you’re ready!) is definitely a good idea. That’s the best phase anyways, right? I think I’d be happy doing those workouts forever!

    Can’t wait to see you in a few months!! xoxo

    • I’m getting adjusted a few times a week and I have some physical therapy to do at home. The adjustments actually feel really good!

      Oh seriously, I love the livefit workouts, especially phase 2. Can’t wait to get back in there!

  3. Chiropractic is basically the only thing that helps my TMJ. I was skeptic, too, but it’s helped a lot! I hope it does the same for you!!! 🙂 Get better, soon!

  4. Holy cow! Dislocated ribs too?!! DANG! I hope you are starting to feel better! Amazing what a good chiropractor can do, huh? I wish I was better so I could give you a massage! Hopefully soon!

Leave a Reply

