Caught in a Whirlwind

Hey hey!  Boy, it has been a busy couple of days!

Last Sunday, we had some friends over for dinner so I was busy in the kitchen.

Well, with a hungry husband, I’m always busy in the kitchen, but you know what I mean. 😉

I made roasted chicken.

Mashed potatos + gravy (unpictured).

A big salad of spinach, romaine, carrot, cherry tomatoes, cucumber, grated asiago and olives.

For dessert, I made baked s’mores.  I meant to take a picture of a piece… but they vanished so quickly, I didn’t have a chance!

I might even venture to say these are better than s’mores.

Seriously.  Make these. Find the recipe HERE.

In other news, did you guys have a nice Valentine’s day?  At least eat some chocolate?

For breakfast, I made J blueberry heart pancakes.  They aren’t very hard actually!  Just pour the batter in a “v” shape and they kind of fill in.

J brought home these beautiful roses for me.  I don’t care what anyone says, girls love flowers.

I gave him new flannel pajamas (on clearance at American Eagle!).

I also gave him a huge box of popcorn I bought at Costco.  It was kind of a joke, but my man loves his popcorn!

We went to dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant.  Definitely not very fancy for Valentine’s day but they had live music and it was a lot of fun.

Egg cartons make good holders for these strawberries!

For an after dinner treat, I made cream cheese filled strawberries.  I found the idea on pinterest, it’s insanely easy!

Just cut out the middle of the strawberry and fill with a mixture of:

8 oz. cream cheese

4 T powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp almond extract (I added this for better flavor, yum!)

(original recipe can be seen here)

Quick LiveFit update:

Week two I totally cheated on the eating plan.  Whoops.  Hello?  baked s’mores and cream cheese strawberries!  Despite all that, I made an effort to still get lots of protein and veggies!

I saw a quote on pinterest the other day that said:

“Saying ‘Oh, I’ve already ruined my good eating today, so I’ll just eat crap’  is like saying ‘Oh, I dropped my phone on the floor, I’ll just smash it until it breaks’ “

 

Love this quote!  Eating healthy doesn’t have to be all or nothing.

Since the week 2 was a repeat of week 1, I was able to up my weight a little on almost every one!  Now, I’m on week 3, and whoo! my legs are sore today!

I have been getting up with J at 4:30 (that’s in the morning) to hit the gym with him before he goes to work and then go do my workout a few hours later.  Even though cardio hasn’t been introduced in the program, it’s nice to just do some really (really!) easy cardio to kind of wake up and stretch out.

I usually just sit on the bike and read my Kindle fire or a magazine.  I hadn’t read the last few months of Women’s Health so turns out it’s been a great way to catch up on my reading!

Speaking of Women’s Health magazine, my city Boise Idaho, was voted #4 healthiest city for women!

Boise, ID made #4! Is your city on this list?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great rest of your week!!

12 thoughts on “Caught in a Whirlwind

  1. I love that quote from pinterest! It makes complete sense. Thanks for the tip about the heart shaped pancakes too, one year I just tried to ‘draw’ a heart with the ladle and it really didn’t work at all!

Leave a Reply

