Immersed

I’m alive, I swear!

I’m not much of a green thumb, but my Christmas cactus is still in full bloom.

I have been busy with my CNA clinicals, which I absolutely LOVED.  Always a good sign, right?  I did three 8 hour shifts at a nursing home and one 8 hour shift at one of the local hospitals.  Definitely two different environments, but kind of the same.

I loved it all.

I loved the grumpy old people who say whatever they please because they don’t care what people think.
I loved the sweet grateful old people who would light up when you came into their room.
I loved that they would smirk at my silly jokes.
I loved the few who might not have been there 100%.
I even loved the feeling of exhaustion at the end of the day because there hadn’t been a single dull moment.
I loved all the things some people might think are gross.
One lady said I had wings, that I was an angel.  (Hah!  Fooled her! šŸ™‚ )
I even loved taking people’s blood glucose (apparently I have no problem causing one to bleed…)
I thanked an elderly patient for holding my hand while I tested his blood glucose
And laughed when he said he didn’t get to hold many pretty girls’ hands these days.
I love that people are just, people and it’s the little things to make the world just a little brighter.

So that’s been my life.  And sleeping.  Oh and back to regularly scheduled classes.

I take my skills exam followed by my written exam on Monday and I’m feeling pretty good.  Cross your fingers and wish me luck!

In other news, we had our first snow a week ago.  I had gone to 6 am hot yoga and came out to a blanket of snow on the ground.

Our backyard had its very own snowdrift.

Speaking of hot yoga,  I’ve been going once a week all of January and it turns out it actually gets easier.  Especially when you remember to breathe.  I’ll be sad when my groupon expires, but hopefully there will be another. 

I recently cooked up some real winners, and some not so great losers.

Sweet potato shepherd’s pie via Janetha?  Serious Win.  Find the recipe here.

A few baked shrimp recipes?  Meh.  Both of these I tried from Pinterest. I guess I prefer mine with butter and garlic.  Or cocktail sauce.
Shrimp with lemon, butter and Italian spices

Feta spaghetti shrimp bake.  It had salsa in it.  It was weird.
Avocado fries?  Definitely a win.  I mean avocado baked in Panko?  YES.
Oops.  I think I added too much water to my oats.
Yeah, oats.  Time and time again, I have professed my dislike for oats and here I am eating them several times a week.  With cinnamon and flax and a pinch of Splenda.  Well if you must know, they stick to my ribs.  So, I force myself to eat them because eating a healthy breakfast helps me eat healthy the rest of the day.  They aren’t so bad, I guess. 
Does anyone know when grapefruit season is?  Because it seems to me the best grapefruits are always found end of Jan, beginning of Feb.  Yum.

How did that get in there?  If you love caramel, chocolate and vanilla ice cream, you will love this.  It was all I could do not to just dig the caramel “core” out of the middle. 
  

5 thoughts on “Immersed

  1. I'm glad you made avocado fries! Aren't they amazing?! Props to you for healthifying them too…I went with the full-fat version, but next time I'll utilize my oven instead. ;-)It sounds like your CNA clinicals were a wonderful experience! Aren't seniors so much grumpy fun? I'm teaching a cooking class with seniors right now, and they make me laugh every day!Good luck on your exams! Go get 'em, girl! xoxoxo

  2. Avocado fries sound delicious, and so does that ice cream. I bought a bunch of grapefruit the other day, they are the only thing that can break through my morning sickness. I don't know when they are in season, but they are heavenly!

Leave a Reply

