Unsolicited Advice

Thank you SO much for all the support in my starting CNA class.  I’ve definitely been pretty tight lipped about my long term goals in nursing since I’m not there yet and it is so competitive that it really freaks me out. 


Yay!  I’m so glad we can all suffer together from our less than clear complexions at times.  Hey, we’re all human, right?  


I am in a better mood this week.  Things are still busy, but I feel like I’m keeping up better and enjoying the ride.  Could be because my gigantic lab test over muscles and bones is over with.  Whew!

CNA school is going swell, we practice taking blood pressure often because it is the trickiest skill to learn and I feel like I’m really getting the hang of it. I feel totally important in scrubs with a stethoscope around my neck (which really is the easiest way to hold it when hands are busy).

Scrubs are so darn comfy.
And would you look at what I did all by myself to my (never manicured) nails:
So flipping cute.  I can’t get over these.
They are actually the stick-on nail colors.  I was really skeptical about them but could NOT pass up the polka dots.  You have to work a little quickly, but the plus is that there’s no drying time!  I can’t sit still long enough to let regular nail polish dry.  They make me look a lot more high maintenance that I really am.
And to top it all off, I finally got the curtain hung over the bathroom window.  This is on the side of the tub.  I realize you can’t really see much of the curtain in this picture.  It’s a transparent bronzy color.
Everyone likes a hot bath next to pretty things right?
Oh, and by the way, I’ve found the BEST thing to help with those cystic zits (hard, painful, don’t come to a head) I was complaining about last week.  Here’s your unsolicited advice from me:
Peter Thomas Roth AHA/BHA clearing gel.  
It’s a little pricey, but you can ask for a free sample at Sephora and a little goes a long way and it LASTS.

October Goals


Sunday: rest
Monday: another 6:30 am workout: legs (Oh the burn!)
Tuesday: arms + abs
Wednesday: rest (I am now completely crippled)
Thursday: sick
Friday: sick
Saturday: sick




Arg, I keep getting the same cold for a couple of days, then it comes back again! What the heck?!?  I’ve noticed though that exercising regularly seems to help me get well faster from colds.  Win.

My track record has not been great for October.  But, it’s been a super busy and stressful month so I’m not going to waste any time feeling guilty about it.

I also ate oatmeal twice this week.  I’m not much of an oatmeal person. So it’s a sign that I was sick. šŸ˜‰  No photo, I’m confident you all know what oatmeal looks like.

I also made a batch of tortellini soup just in time for my cold and it was definitely comforting between sniffles, sore throat and muffled hearing.

Yum.  
Lots of lunch salads lately.  No, this was not solely my lunch.  I can’t remember what else I had.  Probably soup.
I like to toss my greens with the dressing before adding other stuff.
Some of the last zucchini (arg, that is a hard word to spell) and asparagus of the season.
Plus a salmon burger, LOVE those.
Now, if only I could get some more baking into my life.  I miss it.

It’s nearly Halloween!  Are you dressing up this year?


What is a recipe I should bake asap?  Links please!

p.s. if you’re viewing this in a reader, click over to see my recent tweaks to my blog design.


p.p.s.  I’m finally getting professional help!  For my blog that is.  Stay tuned.

14 thoughts on “Unsolicited Advice

  1. I'm not dressing up because I'll be in DC for MCM, but my mom did buy my dogs fairy wings and bat wings. LOVE. Are those the sally hanson nail sticker things, or a different brand? I love them!

  2. im glad youre getting the hang of BPs…its tricky at the beginning but once you get it you can do it with your eyes closed while wresting a kid (ok I work with kids so theres lots of trying to get them still) youre going to great in school. Im sorry youre sick, make sure you get enough sleep with all those stressful classes

  3. I'm sorry that your sick, but hey– at least you have a mean polka dot manicure to make up for it šŸ˜‰

  4. Sorry about the nagging cold. I get that or some sort of congestion every once in a while- not bad enough to be "sick" but annoying nonetheless!Need baking inspiration? The majority of the recipes I link to are from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody, Picky Palate, or Gingerbread Bagels. They all make CRAZY good stuff…

  5. LOVE the green polka dots–both on the blog and on the nails! Super cute! Yay for CNA school going well…Look at you in those scrubs! I've always been jealous of medical professionals who get to wear such comfy clothes to work. And some of the patterns are so fun!I've been on a salmon burger kick lately…love them too! Don't try them with cheese though…Despite knowing better, I topped one with cheddar the other night to mix things up a bit. Definitely not doing that again! Seafood + cheese don't jive so well!Love and miss you! I get to see you in December! Yay! xoxo

  6. LOVE your nails, Meg! They are freaking cool. I've been really into black nail polish lately. :)I've never really dressed up for Halloween. I dress up as myself because everyone wants to be me. Hahahaha! Kidding, of course.

  7. So many healthy eats girly!! And I loved your scrubs picture — you do look very important. I am glad to hear your classes are going well and i can't even wait to come back to b-town and hit up a bodypump or yoga class with you!! I know I just left, but still — I miss my workout buddy!!

Leave a Reply

