Back on Track

Well!  Taking a week off definitely put the spring back in my step!  I was worried that I might have a tough time getting back into my routine, but it turns out I just felt energized to get moving.

Today is a BIG day!  It’s Jeremy and my 4th wedding anniversary.

Hard to believe it has been so long because, as cliche as it sounds, it doesn’t feel that long.  Which I guess is a good thing.

I’m so lucky.  We’ve been through so much together as any couple will but the thing that really glues us together is two things.

1) Our faith.  Being able to come together to learn and pray really has brought us so much closer.
2) Our laughter.  If there’s anything you should know about me is that I’m a total goof ball.  Despite sometimes embarrassing my husband with my antics, we have a lot of fun together.  We need a reality show.

Photobucket
While I could never count all the things I love about Jeremy, here are just a few:

-He always encourages me.  
-He believes in me, even when I don’t.
-He makes me laugh.
-He teaches me new things when I least expect it.
-He is patient with me when I am stubborn (a lot).
-He is a good snuggler.
-He is good at fixing things. 
-He stays calm when I panic, like when Hunter took a tumble.
-He is a good cook.
-He helps me clean.
-His smile and his belly laugh.
-His efforts to surprise me– it’s not easy.
-He does sweet things like leave me a note telling me he loves me.
Dawww… 

September Goals:

Sunday: rest
Monday: spinning
Tuesday: hot yoga take 2
Wednesday: rest
Thursday: 5.48 mi run (truth: ran 4.5 with short walking breaks, cool down walk for last mile)
Friday: rest
Saturday: impromptu rest

Hot yoga take 2:  This week was slightly better than last week because
1) I knew what to expect
2) I remembered to breathe (do you ever hold your breath when you’re concentrating hard on a pose?)
3) I wasn’t directly under a heating vent and
4) I woke up a little earlier so I didn’t feel quite so groggy.
There is nothing quite like finishing up a yoga class to the sunrise.

5.48 mi run: Wow!!  My friend and I set out with her baby in the jogger, and Hunter on the leash.  We planned to try for at least 4.5 miles, to which I promply whined at but grudgingly agreed.  We took a route we were fairly used to and by the time we took a stopping break, we had already run over 4 miles!

At this point, we decided to go ahead and run another mile or so and then walk back home for a much needed cool down.  Hunter completed a new PDR! The farthest he’s ever run is a 5k and today we nearly doubled that.  Horray Hunter!

Best breakfast:

4 egg whites + 1 egg + spinach + cheese, bagel thin with butter and strawberry preserves.
Lunches

More sammiches!  Tuna + sprouts + spinach + avocado. 

Falafel with homemade tzatziki.  Salad with dried cherries, feta, blue cheese, sunflower seeds, almonds and cucumber with white balsamic vinaigrette. 
Best dinner:
Rice + sauteed broccoli + kielbasa sausage.
Best snack:

Ms. How Sweet’s  Crazy Feta!   I halved the recipe, but it only took me two days to polish off. 

Best dessert:
The lovely Lindsay recommended these to me and they are SO good!  

Sorry Hunter, dairy is a big no no for doggies.  
This post is getting long so I’ll try to keep this last part short and sweet.
October:

1.  Keep drinking water.  I kind of petered  out at the end of the month on this one.
2.  Take my vitamins more regularly.  I definitely improved but I still need to be more consistent.
3. Continue exercise 4-5 days a week.  I have no problem taking an extra rest day if I need it. 
4. Do yoga or pilates at least once a week.  With increased running, I need some extra stretching.
5. Kick the scale to the curb.  More on this soon.
6. Keep up with my grades.  So far, I’ve been kicking it in anatomy, but the hardest is yet to come. 

Ok!  I might add a few more goals to this list but that’s all for now!

I was featured on Healthy Living Blogs!  Click here to check it out. šŸ˜€

Have a fantastic week!

What is something that connects you and your significant other?  Or what is something you look for in a partner?

7 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. Happy 4 years!!! šŸ™‚ Also, congrats on your long run! Girly, you had a rockin' week! Let me know if you are down for hot yoga part 3 this week! Ha ha! šŸ™‚ Keep up the good work!!

  2. Happy Anniversary! I can't believe it's been four years! You definitely landed a keeper…You two are pretty gosh darn adorable. Congrats on rocking the run! And give Hunter a pat on the back for me too. ;-)I think I *need* those frozen Greek yogurt pops in my life. Like right now! I actually tried the new Oikos Greek frozen yogurt and didn't like it…Have you found it yet? I'd like to know how it compares to your super yummy-looking pops! Love you! xoxo

Leave a Reply

