(Not A) Fail

So if any of you have stuck around after hearing my “Khloe” voice well, thanks.  I’m sure all you dog owners have a special voice for your doggie(s) too!

I went to the women’s fitness celebration expo that was going on this weekend and a specialty bakery was selling cupcakes for $1.

Photobucket
Red velvet, yum!  I like the ratio of frosting to cake.  There were so many to choose from: strawberry, lemon, coconut, chocolate, vanilla bean… but red velvet wins every time in my book.

I also got a lot of free stuff like tasty samples, chocolate milk, string cheese and entered lots of giveaways *fingers crossed* I never win anything though, so I am not holding my breath.

I’m usually not a pancake girl in the mornings because I think they too long, but I really had a hankering for them so I used a whole wheat honey mix plus mashed banana and real maple syrup.

Photobucket
Plus over easy eggs.  I eat eggs nearly every morning, no oats for me!

Photobucket
A “snack” of sweet potato fries.

More sandwiches this week!

Photobucket

Photobucket
Turkey, smashed avocado, tomato, spinach and sprouts!  I love sprouts but sometimes it takes some conscious effort to use them all before they get… slimy.  I packed this cute english muffin full of them.  Despite the size of this little guy… it packed a serious punch.

Look at me and my vegetarian salad:

Photobucket
Everything but the kitchen sink: black beans, avocado, tomatos (that were mushy and I ended up picking most of them out, spinach, sunflower seeds, boiled egg, mushrooms, goldfish crackers… did I leave anything out?  I wished I had beets on hand, darn.

Confession:  I did jack squat in the workout department this week.  I have been feeling really fatigued and keep getting headaches about bedtime.  I don’t know if it’s low iron/protein, sugar detox or stress about school.

Either way, I decided to listen to my body and lay low and get some extra sleep this week.  At first I thought, man! I totally failed my goals this month.  But then I realized that it’s better to slow down than get run down.  Sometimes our bodies just need a little R&R.

Photobucket
I did however run kick butt at the 5k for the Women’s Fitness celebration.  We sprinted the last oh, quarter of the run and it was one of the most exhilarating sprints I’ve done in a long time.  Such a blast!

Photobucket
It great sprinting to the finish line.  I really dug deep, because I like to finish strong.  We both finished at 36:17 which is about average for me.  I don’t care that I’m not incredibly fast, I only compete with
myself.

Photobucket

p.s. like my sweet new under armour hat?  I hate, hate, HATE running in sunglasses and this had was really lightweight and I didn’t notice it at all while I was running.

If my fatigue does have to do with school stress, at it’s paying off!  I’ve been studying my butt off and I got a 90% on my lab exam!  Woo!

Saturday night was Bronco Night!

Photobucket
Hunter was ready with his bandanna.

Photobucket
We beat Tulsa 41-21, Go Broncos!

6 thoughts on “(Not A) Fail

  1. It seems like this past weekend was the weekend of races! there's been a lot of 5Ks and triathlons going around my neighborhood too.And wow. $1 cupcakes? Awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

