Recipe: portobellos stuffed with greens and mozzarella

I went to see The Help for the second time Tuesday night.  Just as great as the first time!  It left me craving deviled eggs (WITH paprika) and fried chicken.  Mmmmm….

This recipe is neither.  But like those sassy ladies, it is fancy pants.  Maybe you can have some girls over for bridge and serve these.  With some deviled eggs and fried chicken.  Yeah.  Can I come too?

I’ve been craving mushrooms lately and decided to give this recipe a go…

You’re going to need Swiss chard.  Or, if you temporarily forget what Swiss chard is, kale.  Oh, all right!  If you never knew the difference between Swiss chard and kale is.  You’ll also need some fire roasted tomatoes, mozzarella, garlic, green onions, herbs and S&P.

Photobucket

Start by separating the stems and greens from the kale and chopping the kale.  You can use the stems if you want, but I didn’t feel like it.  This will mean less volume for your mushrooms.  Add some extra cheese and call it a day.

Wash your mushrooms and cut out the stems.  Make sure that they dry really good, otherwise the water will make the mushrooms soggy.  Take it from me, patience is a virtue.

Photobucket

I bought the most amazing garlic at the farmers’ market more than a few weeks ago with Sara.  To say I’ve been savoring this fresh garlic is an understatement.  Yum.

Photobucket

Next, crush the garlic.  Invest in a garlic press.  You won’t regret it.

Photobucket

Cook the garlic with a bit of salt.  Mmm…

Separate the bulbs from the greens of the green onions.  Chop and add to the pan with the kale.  I added half of the kale at a time to prevent most of it from ending up on the floor.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I swear I have more kitchen incidents than anyone in the world.

Add the chopped green onions, parsley, tomatoes (oops, I forgot to drain them) and cheese.  Mix.  Add pepper to taste.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Coat the mushrooms with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.

Photobucket
Photobucket

I started with a brush and quickly changed to PAM.  I like the easy way out.  Spray the baking sheet while you’re at it.

Divide the greens mixture onto the mushrooms.  Top with a sprinkle of cheese and some more pepper if you like.

Photobucket

Bake at 400 *F for about 15-20 minutes.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Giant Mushrooms Stuffed with Greens and Mozzarella
(adapted from Women’s Health)

2 tbsp olive oil
1 lb. (about a bunch of 8 stems or so) Swiss chard, or kale
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/4 tsp salt + some to sprinkle on mushrooms
1 bunch green onions (about 6), bulbs and greens separated and chopped
8 portobello mushrooms
1/2 c. DRAINED fireroasted diced tomatoes
2/3 c. mozzarella cheese, coarsely grated
2 tbsp finely chopped parsley
S & P
1/2 c. coarsely chopped cashews (optional)

1. Heat oven to 400 *F.  Heat 1 1/2 tsp. on medium high heat (my stove cooks hot, so I kept it on medium low).  Add kale stems (if using), garlic and salt and cook for 5 minutes.  Stir in scallion bulbs and kale leaves.  Cook until tender, about 12 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove from heat.

2. Coat mushrooms with remaining 4 1/2 tsp olive oil and lightly sprinkle with salt.  Place on large baking sheet.

3. Stir tomatoes, green onion greens, cheese and parsley into kale mixture and season with pepper to taste.  Fill mushrooms and bake for 15-20 minutes. If using cashews, sprinkle on right before serving.

Or you know, just get someone else to do it while you lounge around.

Photobucket
Hunter says, “You wish you had my life.”  Yes, sometimes I do.

5 thoughts on “Recipe: portobellos stuffed with greens and mozzarella

  1. Wow, Meg this looks like such a great recipe! I tried to make stuffed portabella mushrooms once but they came out more like flat pizzas… whoops :)I'm saving this for sure!

  2. Oh my goodness, these look AMAZING. Stuffed portabella mushrooms are one of my favorite meals! I often buy the mushroom caps and do a a quick pizza-shroom (tomato sauce, spinach and melted cheese), but my favorite recipe is actually posted on my blog (and MUCH more time-intensive). This recipe might give it a run for it's money though! ;-)And yes, that garlic is SO flavorful! Love it. I wish I'd brought the bulb back to DC, but instead my mom is (hopefully) enjoying it.Oh, and The Help made me crave deviled eggs too! Love them! (Love you more though!) xoxo

Leave a Reply

