The Last of Hawaii and a Winner!

Whoops, where did last week go?  I took a hiatus.  My to do list was 2 miles long.  I’m proud to say that I cleaned our entire 3 car garage, and our office is starting to look more like an office and less like a room with a desk buried beneath stuff.  😉

Somewhere along the way I left out that we went to a fun sailing/snorkeling adventure.  Check our their website for gorgeous slideshows.  Now sure how I forgot it, but it might have something to do with my husband accidentally losing our waterproof camera in the ocean.  Oops.  It was a lot of fun, though!  We saw lots of fish, spinner dolphins and a huge turtle that swam right by us!  If you ever have a chance to go snorkeling, I highly recommend it!

On our last day (Valentine’s day) we drove up the North Shore of Hawaii which is more like what people think of when they think of Hawaii.  No more busy Waikiki, just open ocean and gorgeous green everywhere.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I got slightly bored on the 30 minute drive.

Photobucket
Photobucket

We spent the morning playing at the beach for a while and buying shrimp from a truck popular with the locals.  Unfortunately, I found the shrimp to be a little tough and dry.

Photobucket
However, while we were browsing some tourist stands, we ran into a girl who had served an LDS mission in Texas the same time as Jeremy– over 10 years ago!  Small world!

Photobucket
We also visited the LDS visitor center and temple.

Photobucket
I couldn’t get over the hibiscus flowers everywhere!

The rest of our day was spent at the Polynesian Cultural Center.  If you do one thing in Ohau, I’d recommend this.  It is well worth the money and supports college students from the Polynesian islands by giving them job to work at the center.

There was SO much to see.  I felt like we saw maybe half.  It was really cool.

Photobucket
We took a canoe tour around the park.

Photobucket
Here is our canoe.  We sat at the front, woohoo!

Photobucket
Here is our tour guide– from Fiji.

Then we watched a show on the water representing each of the Polynesian islands:

Photobucket
Hawaii

Photobucket
New Zealand–Aotearoa in the native language (the only Polynesian island with 4 seasons)

Photobucket
Samoa (the two guys on the back pushed each other into the water– I don’t think that was part of the show!)

Photobucket
Fiji

Photobucket
Tonga

Photobucket
Tahiti

Photobucket
Easter Island (Rapa Nui)

Photobucket
Saw a super cool palm tree.

Photobucket
We watched a Tongan comedian.  He did this cool trick to get the coconut water out of the coconut by smashing it in a bunch of long grass and then wringing out the grass.

Photobucket
Ate the largest snow cone ever.

Then it was time for the LUAU.

Photobucket
Roasted pig.

Photobucket
Royal Family

Photobucket
Large pina colada smoothie.

Photobucket
Tiny dancers.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
More dancers.

Photobucket
Feed me!  Purple potatoes, fish, roasted pig, salad, chicken rice noodles, pineapple, potato salad, sweet potato and kale. Heaven!

Photobucket
Finale!

Goodbye Hawaii. 😦

Okaaay, time to announce the winner!  I was SO excited because 1) I just figured out how to “print screen” on my mac and 2) It was finally time to pick one lucky winner!

**drumroll please**

Photobucket

Photobucket

Jess!! from A Taste of Confidence

Please email your mailing address to meg(dot)bailey(at)rocketmail(dot)com.  Congrats girl!

Don’t worry, I have some more fun giveaways coming up soon! 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Last of Hawaii and a Winner!

  1. Bummer that Jeremy lost the camera in the water! That happened to me in Costa Rica! I have no doubt that you saw gorgeous fish though!The Polynesian Cultural Center looks like so much fun! That pina colada smoothie is calling my name…and so is the pineapple. Yum.Miss you, girl! I'll be in Boise in July, and this time we are definitely meeting up, k? ❤

  2. I swear, those first two pictures of the roads..I have the EXACT same ones!! And the park with the rive and dancers, I was there!!! We had a luau with a pit pig and everything, it was amazing (with those purple sweet potato rolls!! haha!) My ex boyfriend's stationed in Waikiki and I was fortunate to stay with him for 3 weeks. It was nice doing the touristy things but not having to deal with maps or anything like that since he knew his way around and all.

Leave a Reply

