Hawaii: Day 3.

Next up on our busy to do list was to visit Hickam AFB (air force base) to pick up some discounted tickets for snorkeling and the polynesian cultural center (PCC).  

I don’t have many pictures from the actual base, because photography is largely forbidden.  After picking up our tickets, we went to the actual Pearl Harbor base (since we both had military ID for them to let us in) and looked around at the navy ships and submarines.  I even saw some Canadian naval ships!

Photobucket
Here’s a picture I borrowed of the HCMS Vancouver. (source)

We spend the next hour driving out to Pearl Harbor… only to discover my not-so-great Google maps on my iPhone had directed us to the wrong side of the harbor!  Oops.  We had to laugh, because really, what else could we do?

Late in the afternoon, we finally found the Pearl Harbor we were looking for (embarrassingly enough, it was right next to Hickam AFB).

Photobucket
Photobucket

Unfortunately, we’d missed the last tour for the day.  We got up to the ticket counter and she said “the last tour was at 4:00 so that means…” and we got our hopes up “…you missed it by 40 minutes”.  Jeez, thanks for the useful information lady.  😡

Photobucket
But we still toured the USS Bowfin (nicknamed the Pear Harbor avenger) which was a lot of fun.  They gave us headsets with MP3 players that would explain about different parts of the submarine.  This one was quite small compared to some of the ones today, I suppose.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
I could hardly believe how small everything was.  Being only 5’4″ I don’t know how a bunch of full grown men could manage in there!

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

There was a tour guide in there and she was ushering us around the engine room taking a million pictures for us!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Dive! Dive! Dive!

Photobucket
Here’s the “Christmas tree” all the lights on this have to be green before the sub can dive.  If there is one red light, some part of the sub was not ready for the dive.

Photobucket
The anchors were HUGE.  There was one on each side of the USS Bowfin.

Next, we visited the museum for the USS Bowfin.  There was so much to see!

Photobucket
An old school navy uniform.

Photobucket
The “first” submarines were these little one person capsules and they’d paddle up to an enemy ship and literally drill a hole into the ship!  This was incredibly funny to me!

I loved all the 40’s era artifacts!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket
I LOVE the smashed pennies.

Photobucket
Everywhere we went, I couldn’t get over the palm trees!  Those don’t exist in Idaho!  If you look really closely, you can see the darker green rows and rows of birds of paradise on the right side.

After coming back to our hotel and cleaning up, we went to the Prince Hotel for a very fancy buffet.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

I felt bad wasting food but pretty much could only eat a bite or two of each thing since there was so much!  My eyes are always bigger than my stomach!

Photobucket
Of course there was room for dessert.  I chose a fruit tart and key lime pie.

Photobucket

Reliving all these Hawaii pictures is so fun!  I don’t know what I’ll do when the recaps are over.  Another vacation maybe?  Just kidding. (kind of)

Recently, Nicole gave me the Versatile Blogger Award.  She is such a doll!

Photobucket

I’m supposed to tell you 7 random things about myself… easy enough because I’m pretty random!

1. I canNOT wear mismatched socks.  It would drive me crazy!
2. I’m a big list maker and sometimes I’ll write down things I’ve already done so I can see how much I’ve accomplished.
3. My all time favorite movie is The Little Princess, the one with Shirley Temple.  I can (and have) watch it over and over.
4. I don’t particularly care for nuts or nut butter.
5. I HATE lunges (but do them anyways) but I LOVE squats.
6. I recently read a book called House Rules by Jodi Picoult.  I’d highly recommend it.
7. I am fairly certain I could eat Thai food everyday.  Unfortunately, I’m convinced I’m too white to make it right.

I’m also supposed to pass this on, but truly all of your blogs are so wonderful, I’d hate to leave anyone out, so consider yourself tagged!

Tell me, what’s one random thing about you?


I’m looking for a new read, any good book recommendations?

4 thoughts on “Hawaii: Day 3.

  1. What a fun day! I've never been to Oahu, but I'd love to visit Pearl Harbor! So much history!The Little Princess is one of my favorite movies too! I like the old and new versions. And I completely agree with Jess about Water for Elephants. I just read it and loved it! The movie comes out in a few weeks! (starring Robert Pattinson and Reece Witherspoon!)xoxo

Leave a Reply

