In Remembrance

This took me some time and courage to write.  I hope you’ll bear with me.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to “go there” with something close to my heart.  I’ve lost two of the most wonderful people in this world.  They lived in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada.  Now they live in heaven.  I truly believe that.

Photobucket
My Grandpa and Gammy.  This is with my brother and I when we were quite little.

My Gammy’s name was Catherine.  She had the most beautiful singing voice and played the piano as well as sewed many of her own clothes.  She called me her little songbird because I would always sing to and with her.  She was gentle and sweet and had an infectious laugh.  Growing up, she was my “favorite” grandparent.  She sewed dresses for me when I was little.  One year for Christmas, she gave me two dolls and sewed a whole wardrobe for them.  I loved all the tiny clothes she had painstakingly made especially for me.  That is something I will always treasure.  Gammy passed away January 24, 2011.  I know she is watching over me today, her little songbird.

My Grandpa’s name was Frank.  His family had emigrated from Austria before he was born.  He liked to tease and joke a lot.  I remember his laugh and his smile.  He loved my brother and I, his only grandchildren.  He’d leave “loonies” or 1 dollar coins at the table for my brother and I when we would visit.  I remember how much he loved candied papaya.  Anytime I think about papaya I think about him.  My grandpa was tirelessly dedicated to take care of Gammy when she became sick over 10 years ago.  His continuous service to her was an example of his love for Jesus Christ.  I believe he was heartbroken when Gammy died and passed away February 20, 2011.  I know that he is glad to be reuinted with his wife.

There is no way to describe the feeling of no longer having them on earth.  Despite the sadness, I know that they no longer have any pain of old age, that they are happy and comfortable and are nearer to me than I realize.  I’m glad for the lives that they led, the examples that they were and that I was able to know such wonderful people.  It makes me wish I would have appreciated the time we spent together but I have learned to appreciate the time that I have with my own parents.

9 thoughts on “In Remembrance

  1. I'm so sorry to hear about your recent losses. I think doing a post like this, and honoring their memories and lives is a great way to feel closer to them. They are happy somewhere, together, and it's a great lesson to appreciate what and who (whom?!) you have in your life now.

  2. I'm sorry to hear about your loss. They sound like amazing, wonderful people and truly in love. I'm sure they are looking down at you and smiling because they are so proud of the woman you grew up to be!

  3. Oh Meg, I am so sorry. How hard it must be to lose them both so close together! But what a huge blessing for THEM, to go so close together. I hate thinking about living without my honey for years, or him without me.

  4. Meg, I'm so sorry for your loss…but I truly believed that heaven gained another eternal member, and I just know his prayers for you all, during his time on earth, will be fulfilled. My grandfather right now is dying…I just got news…though I feel sadness, I also know his life in the eternal world will be much happier than the one here. ((hugs))

  5. Meg, this memoriam is beautifully written from the heart. I am so sorry for your loss and hope you find comfort in the fact that they're both happily reunited in heaven. You are their legacy, and thus have the amazing opportunity to carry on their lives here on earth. I'm sure they're incredibly proud of you, and the beautiful woman you've become, and that they're watching lovingly from above. If you need anything, please let me know. Much love. xoxoxo

  6. I'm glad you wrote this out Meg. It's okay to "go there." I've experienced grandparents passing as well as my grandmother in law and it is hard. Aging, death and dying are challenging but it's best to face them with honesty. I'm sure they are proud of you and looking down on you with a smile.

Leave a Reply

