Hawaii: Day 2

So, I’ve spend the last 5 days in bed sick as a dog.  I make it without getting sick all winter long and then it knocks me off my feet.  Not fun.  I feel like I’m beginning to get better, which is good because I have two tests this week.  Boo hoo, poor me. ;(  

To contrast my lovely vacation, it’s been crazy weather here.  One day it’s sunny and springy, the next it’s snowing potato sized snowflakes (seriously, no exaggeration!) and today the wind is howling at every corner of the house.
Photobucket
Hello neighbor’s tree.
Yeesh… 
You ready for more Hawaii??
2/12
We were smarter and got up early to have breakfast at the hotel brunch.  We ended up eating most of our breakfasts here.  Guess who had waffles with coconut syrup almost every day?  Yum.  I also loaded up on a lot of fruit, especially pineapple.  I swear the pineapple is a hundred times sweeter there.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I’d been wanting to take pictures of this tree since we got there.  Isn’t it cool?  They have strings of lights hanging down the branches at night, it reminded me of the tree from Avatar.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
This day was spent shopping! all day long…   Surprisingly enough, this was Jeremy’s idea.  Though he definitely got shopped out before I did.  He was a great sport though.  We walked to the mall from our hotel, and managed to take the very long way… we were quite lost for a while.  I’m not a good navigator.  More on that later.  πŸ˜‰
The mall was called Ala Moana Center and it was pretty big.  The biggest I’ve ever been to, though that’s not saying much.  It was an open air mall, only walkways were covered.  The airport is like that too.  What’s the need for windows when the weather is always 70-80 *F outside?  It was 4 floors full of everything from Gucci to Nordstroms.  I bet we only went in half of them.   
Photobucket
Photobucket
Check out the tiki torches.  These were everywhere.
For lunch, we stopped at this place called Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.  And yes, it was inspired by the movie Forrest Gump.  It was cool.  And really tasty.
Photobucket
This was our table.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I got a big salad with shrimp.  Jeremy gave me his coleslaw so a lot of the shrimp are buried beneath it.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Jeremy got crab legs. 
Photobucket
After lunch, did some more marathon shopping.  
Believe it or not, we were hungry again when we got back to our hotel.  Hey, carrying all those bags will do it to ya!  
We did a little research and found a Japanese steak house at the hotel next to us and decided to check it out.  I’d never been to one!
While we waited to be seated we got ourselves some virgin pina coladas.  
Photobucket
Regular for me.
Photobucket
Mango colada for Jeremy.  Haha, like his hat?  It says “kick me, I dare ya”.
Photobucket
Here is our chef.  
Photobucket
Photobucket
The goods cooking.
After dinner, we rolled ourselves back to the hotel for bed.  It sure was good!
*****
So to keep in the Hawaii theme, and because I LOVE coconut, here’s a recipe for chewy coconut cookies.  If you like coconut as much as I do, you will love these.
Photobucket
I made them in my brand new mixer.  Yippee!! I love it.
Photobucket
Chewy Coconut Cookies
(from allrecipes.com)

1 1/4 c flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. white sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/3 c. flaked coconut (I used 1 c. unsweetened and 1/3 c. sweetened)
1. Preheat oven to 350* F.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.
2. Cream together the butter, brown and white sugar until smooth, be careful not to over mix.  Beat in egg and vanilla until fluffy.  Gradually add the flour mixture, then add the coconut.
3. Drop by tablespoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly toasted.
Photobucket
I know coconut is one of those things people really like or really hate.  Which are you?

9 thoughts on “Hawaii: Day 2

  1. MmMM and boy are those coconut cookies delish!! I am loving reading all about your Hawaii adventures and bummed you are sick. I hope you feel better soon… (by like wed am!). LOL!! πŸ™‚

  2. Ok, so I have a love-hate relationship with these Hawaii recaps! I LOVE reading about your fun adventures there, but hate that they make me want to pack my bags and catch a flight to the islands stat. haha! Pina coladas are probably my favorite drink ever. The combination of coconut and pineapple is heavenly. And Bubba Gump's is such a fun restaurant! I love that every menu item is named after a character in Forrest Gump. Coconut cookies?! Sign me up! I'm gaga over anything coconut. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

