ABC’s and Curried Chickpeas

I’m working on changing the comment settings on here and am not too technology saavy.  If there are any problems, or you have any advice, please let me know!  You can also email me at meg.bailey(at)rocketmail.com

Hope you enjoyed the first part of my trip to Hawaii.  More to come, I promise!

I’m a sucker for survey type posts but have yet to post one on here.  So when I saw this one floating around, I decided to give it a try:

Age: 25.  Though often I act my shoe size (which is 7).

Bed Size: Queen, and I hog the whole dang thing!

Chore you dislike: making the bed or cleaning the shower

Dogs: my baby Hunter

Essential part of your day: Taking my vitamins.  I didn’t get sick all winter!

Favorite color: I really love colors, a lot.  But currently, my favorite is yellow!

Gold or silver: I definitely like white gold or silver, though I think yellow gold looks classy with pearls.

Height: 5’4″

Instruments you play(ed): piano and I’ve tinkered with the guitar

Job title: student/stay at home wife (life is pretty good)

Kids: besides Hunter, not yet!  But I sure am excited for kids babies.  Hopefully a girl so I can indulge in pink and sparkly things… 🙂

Live: Boise, Idaho

Mom’s name: Denise

Nicknames: oh geez, well since Margaret is my “real” name, Meg is technically a nickname.
I’ve had a lot growing up: Megatron (thanks dad), Megathon (thanks grandpa), Meggie (thanks Gammy), Myrtle (thanks Jeremy… long story), Meggers, Megster, Megret, Marge, etc.

Overnight hospital stays: I got really bad food poisoning once, they had to put me on morphine the pain was so bad.  Let’s just say I’ve been a lot more careful about what I eat!

Pet peeves: people who poke along down the middle of the aisles in the grocery store, people who sit/stand on cardio/weight machines and chat instead of using them or moving out of the way, mail credit card offers that I didn’t ask for, pyramid schemes

Quote from a movie: “So if you’re from Africa, why are you white?” -Mean Girls and “Oh, boo-hoo, now I feel really bad.  Bad llama.” -The Emperor’s New Groove

Righty or Lefty: righty

Siblings: one younger brother, Adrien, soon to be 23

Time you wake up: If I have nowhere to be, between 9-11am.  I may have mentioned this once or twice: I am not a morning person.  Though I wish I was!

Underwear: is what I wear under. (Really?  they couldn’t find anything else that started with u??  ultimate, umbrella, unhealthy??)

Vegetables you don’t like: brussels sprouts, cooked tomatoes

X-rays: just my teeth at the dentist, no cavities!

Yummy food you make: Many, many baked goods, but my husband’s favorite is crockpot pulled chicken.

Zoo: favorite zoo animal: otters and seals, they have such joyful personalities.

And now, for a recipe!

Pre-boil two small potatoes and cube them.

In some olive oil, brown some onions and garlic:
Photobucket

Add chickpeas, potatoes and some broccoli(I used frozen), curry powder and salt and pepper:
Photobucket

Cook until tender, toss with some lemon juice and serve!
Photobucket

Broccoli Chickpea Scramble

2 tbs olive oil

1 medium onion, minced
couple cloves of garlic, minced

2 small potatoes, pre-boiled and cubed (since they’ll finish cooking in the skillet, it’s ok for them to be on the firmer side)
1 can chickpeas
1-1/2 c. broccoli, chopped
1 1/4 tsp curry powder
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp lemon juice

1. Add onions, garlic and olive oil to a skillet and cook until softened.

2. Add chickpeas, broccoli and potatoes, spice and cook until tender.

3. Add lemon juice, toss and serve immediately.

This recipe is surprisingly delicious and so easy-peasy, it’s a good one when you need to whip up something quick!

What’s your favorite ways to use chickpeas?


Do you say chickpeas or garbonzo beans??




6 thoughts on “ABC’s and Curried Chickpeas

Leave a Reply

