Ah, the holidays!

I don’t particularly like to announce when I’m going out of town, on the odd chance a stalker decides to rob my house or something (though I’m sure he’d be sorely disappointed in his findings.)

Anyways, last Wednesday, my house looked like this:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket
Check out this AWESOME blanket my friend gave to me for Christmas.  Janetha, I know you’re jealous!

Photobucket
Breakfast.  Tea and oatmeal.  I only like oatmeal on cold days.

Photobucket
My bag was overpacked and I was ready to go.  On a short plane ride to Oregon to see my parents.

Photobucket
Here is a picture from the sky of some part of western Idaho.  You’re welcome.

The next few days were spent baking and lounging.  I made a delicious lighter version of pound cake for Christmas dessert.  I forgot to snap a picture but here’s the recipe I borrowed from Cooking Light.

Light Sour Cream Pound Cake


cooking spray
3 cups cake flour (I used regular and it came out just fine)
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt (I used just a dash)
3/4 c. butter, softened
2 c. granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1/4 c. milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. light or fat free sour cream

1. Spray cooking spray generously into bundt pan (this always reminds me of My Big Fat Greek Wedding when her fiance’s mom brings a bundt cake and her mom has no idea what it is.  Anyone remember that?)  Sidetracked.  Coat the inside of the bundt pan with flour.

2.  Combine flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in small bowl.  Place butter and sugar in large bowl and beat until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time.  Add milk and vanilla and mix until just combined.  Add flour mixture and sour cream alternatively, beat until just combined.

3. Spoon into prepared pan, bake for 1 hour or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes, then loosen with a narrow spatula, place plate over pan and invert cake onto plate.  I like to top it with a vanilla or caramel or lemon sauce.  Yum!

Photobucket
(source)

Skip to Saturday aka Christmas feast.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Ham, pineapple cranberry sauce, gingered carrots, green bean casserole, potato rolls, mashed potatoes.

Also, I thought I’d share this gem with you:

Photobucket
My brother and I, playing in a box.  Never too big, right?

We had leftovers the next day, but with some kind of balsamic glazed brussels sprouts.

Photobucket
Yeah, I still don’t like brussels sprouts.  Even if I think it’s cool they look like tiny cabbages.  I ate them anyway, since I guess they’re good for me.

We also went to see Tron: Legacy

Photobucket
It was awesome!

Photobucket
The theater was called cinnebarre.  I tried to take a picture, but it was dark and I only had my phone.

My point is, that they took out half the seats and replaced them with long tables.  You can order food and they’ll bring it to you during the movie.  Quite brilliant.
Photobucket
Unfortunately, we’d already eaten dinner and didn’t participate in any ordering of food.

The other cool thing, was there were TONS of movie posters lining the walls.  Most of them were old, OLD posters (I’m thinking prints of old posters, not actually the originals).  It was really neat looking at all of them.

Photobucket
Photobucket

I also tried out Jessica’s Kicked Up Spinach Dip but minus the bacon.  Don’t tell her that I left out the bacon, k?

Photobucket
Totally yum-o.

Now I’m back home and happy to see this guy:
Photobucket
He was at the kennel charming all the staff and making new friends.  Still, I think he missed me.

Now I’m wondering: how long can I leave my suitcase in the middle of the floor and get away with it?

Photobucket

What was your best memory of Christmas this year?





12 thoughts on “Ah, the holidays!

  1. Well I won't forget this Christmas….my first White Christmas!That pound cake looks like a wonderful recipe! I will have to try this soon! Did you get your blogger gift?

  2. Best part of Christmas this year? My boyfriend came to spend it with my family for the first time! We've been dating over 5 years and this is the first time we've actually spent Christmas together so it was a big deal πŸ™‚

  3. My best memory of this christmas, was eating the best lasagna ever! Me and my dad cook it up every year, and it's always better and better each year. Glad you had a great Christmas! πŸ™‚ That movie theatre sounds awesome. I heard they put something like that out in nampa? I think. We'll have to research! Welcome home!

  4. I also do not tell people I am going out of town until after the fact…you just never know!Your xmas looks super fun! You are never too old to play in a box! Very very cute! And that dip looks fantastic!

  5. I spent Christmas by myself…so no fun and warm tale to tell, but I enjoyed it! Private moments are always nice.I love the pic of you and your bro in the box…hee hee, reminds me of the times I would play in boxes, too.

  6. I'm the same way..feeling like some stalker is reading my blog and waiting for me to go out of town to rob my place or whatever..even though it's highly unlikely lol. Anyway, glad you had such a great trip!! Visiting family's always so much fun. πŸ™‚

  7. I'm the same way..feeling like some stalker is reading my blog and waiting for me to go out of town to rob my place or whatever..even though it's highly unlikely lol. Anyway, glad you had such a great trip!! Visiting family's always so much fun. πŸ™‚

  8. I also do not tell people I am going out of town until after the fact…you just never know!Your xmas looks super fun! You are never too old to play in a box! Very very cute! And that dip looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

