It’s That Time of Year Again

I don’t care what the calendar says, it’s officially winter here.

Photobucket

Last time, I mentioned we had our first snow, and traces of slick ice and dirty slush were still lingering when I met up with Sara at a new restaurant downtown called the Matador.  It was one of the coolest decorated restaurants I’ve seen in a while: Spanish style with lots of wrought iron touches.

We shared a few dishes:

Spinach Pear Salad

Photobucket

Blackened Ahi with Green Apple Slaw

Photobucket

Pan Seared Scallops

Photobucket

My gorgeous dinner date:

Photobucket
It was so great to catch up with my old friend.  I could not believe how time flew as we talked about life, school and of course our fellow bloggers (all good things!).

To days later, it snowed, and snowed and SNOWED!  I got a lovely 5:30 am wake up call (it was a recording) from the school letting me know classes were cancelled.  I’d already declared it a personal snow day anyway.

Photobucket
After a while, I began to wonder when it would stop.  Still, a big snow is always exciting (especially when I don’t have to drive in it!)

Photobucket

No need to to go the gym for a workout, I just shoveled our three car driveway!  I’m actually sore today…

Photobucket
Good thing I dug out Jeremy’s truck to brave the roads!

Photobucket

Which worked out because someone wasn’t feeling himself.  I had made an appointment the night before to take him to the vet because I was concerned about kennel cough, basically a respiratory tract infection.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Bet ya didn’t know dogs can cough??  It sounds more like a gagging/hacking than human coughs.  I researched to see if there was anything I could do to make Hunter more comfortable, and one website recommended strong peppermint tea with honey.

Photobucket
I was surprised, he licked it right up!

And I set up the humidifier in the bedroom.  It might sound like a lot of trouble for a dog, but he’s my baby.  Plus, the tea and the humidifier helped and he was already feeling better the next day.  I still took him to the vet to make sure he was ok and sure enough!  He didn’t even need any antibiotics because the vet was certain that it was clearing on its own.  I love when vets or doctors don’t immediately turn to drugs.

Photobucket
He clearly was still feeling well enough to play in the snow!  That dog never slows down.

Photobucket

Friday I have plans to make amazing red velvet cookies with cream cheese peppermint filling.  Stay tuned!

Has your pet ever been sick?




8 thoughts on “It’s That Time of Year Again

  1. I'm still thinking about that seared ahi! Gah, SO YUMMY! Can we go back when I'm here for Christmas break?I can't believe the snow…Hopefully mother nature is getting it all out of her system early! I hate to think that there may be four more months of this!My dog, Cali, has never been sick enough that we've had to take her to the doctor, but a few years ago she had some stomach flu that caused her to throw up for a week. Eww. I hope Hunter feels better soon!

  2. Glad that he's feeling better already! It's scary when pets get sick. My pup is usually fine but she's likes to run into things (such a klutz!) so she has a big scar on her head LOL. Enjoy the snow (and no classes)!

  3. Yay for snow days! We just got a little dusting yesterday, my kids were bummed it wasn't a snow day, I told them we would need many more inches before we have a snow day!Hope your doggy is feeling better fast!!Jenhttp://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  4. First of all, I cannot believe that you have THAT much snow. We had a slight flurry tonight… Definitely no shoveling required yet. šŸ™‚ And both of my cats were VERY sick when we first got them. We spent 1k on our gray cat, because we brought him to the vet so many times with ringworm, ear mites, and a respatory infection. I'm so glad that's over. Our vet definitely pushes pills and it's not only less healthy for the pet, but it's also more expensive for the owner. I'm so glad your dog is feeling better!!

Leave a Reply

