Frozen

As I type this, it is currently 9 degrees outside.  That’s Farenheight.  Or -13 degrees Celsius.   We got some snow the other day.  Not very much, but it is FREEZING.

Photobucket
Still, it was exciting to get the first snow of the year.  The icy roads were almost too exciting for me.  :/
I’ve been slurping down herbal tea like crazy!  
Since my mom has been here, I took a little blogging break to hang out, plan some landscaping for the backyard, sew curtains for the master bathroom (when I hang them, I’ll post a picture I promise) COOK and take walks in the snow (at least I know where I inherited my crazy from).
Photobucket
My mom usually cooks for me when she comes out but since I didn’t have school, I ended up cooking for her!  It was a lot of fun to impress her with my skillz!
Photobucket
This sounded good, but it tasted incredible!  I served it with rice pilaf (from a box) and fresh green beans.
Friday night, we went to eat at our favorite Mexican restaurant, Chapala’s, sorry no pictures!   After dinner, we went to see the movie Morning Glory.  I just love Rachel McAdams, I can’t believe she’s 32!
Caramelized onion chicken burgers (pre-made).
Photobucket
We added some fresh guac and lettuce, a squeeze of honey mustard and some vegan garlic mayo.  I also slow roasted some sweet potatoes and zapped some frozen peas in the microwave.
Photobucket
I’d never tried vegan mayo, but this stuff was pretty good!  
Hunter LOVES my mom, he was at her door every morning to greet her when she got up!  
Photobucket
Photobucket
Here he is parading around with her scarf. 
Crock pot beef roast and veggies.  
Photobucket
If you’re new to crockpot cooking, I’d start with this one.  It is so easy.
Photobucket
You put in a roast, add your veggies (I used baby carrots, celery and quarted some red potatoes), mix your spice packet with a cup of water then pour over veggies and meat in the crockpot and cook 7-8 hours on low!
My mom also taught me how to make the easiest gravy in the world.  
Photobucket
Finally at age 24, I can quit making gravy from a packet.
All you need is 2 cups broth (from the crockpot), 2 tbs butter, 2 tbs flour.  You cook the butter and the flour on medium low until it starts bubbling, then add the broth and simmer until thickened.  
For dessert, I made Jessica’s chocolate cinnamon scones with vanilla sauce
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Delish and not overly sweet!
The recipe called for buttermilk, but I didn’t have any.  So I decided to try my hand at making my own.  1 cup milk plus 1 tbs white vinegar.  Wait 5 minutes.  I was totally freaked out by this.
Photobucket
Worked like a charm!
Janetha had recently mentioned cooking ham in a crock pot so I decided to give it a try.  I added a simple sweet glaze into the pot for some extra flavor. 
Photobucket
We had left over sweet potatoes and a big salad on the side.
Photobucket
Hunter definitely felt like he was missing out.
Photobucket
He was laying on a towel to dry out after frolicking in the snow.
Don’t feel too bad for him though, look what the local pet and lawn place was giving away.

Photobucket
Doggie turkey!

It’s this time of the year that I really reflect upon all the good things that have happened since January.  I would be ungrateful if I didn’t express how much I appreciate all the things that God has blessed Jeremy and I with.  Even though we’ve both had to (and continue to) work really hard and make sacrifices, I know that we truly are blessed.  I think about people in my own town who might be homeless or struggling and it really humbles me to look around and see how much we have.

So I challenge all of you to look around you this Thanksgiving weekend and count the many things you have been blessed with.

What are some of the things you are thankful for?



6 thoughts on “Frozen

  1. Hunter reminds me of my dog, Shadow. He goes INSANE when my mom comes home but doesnt really care about the rest of us. πŸ˜› Lucky you got snow, too! Even though the ice isn't so fun..it's still exciting to see snow. πŸ™‚

  2. Dang. A shiver just went up my spine. 9 degrees? I remember one time when the temp got that low in my area, and uh…I don't wanna think about it. I'm thankful for your great comment to my last post. Thanks, Meg! It was really touching, and I wish you could see my smile right now. πŸ™‚

  3. I learned to make gravy years ago by making a roux! (The butter flour stuff) After that I couldn't believe people still try adding the flour to the liquid separately! No lumps with a roux!

Leave a Reply

