New month, new goals, new food

This week I’ve been thinking.  I tend to start things with good intentions and not finish them.  Oops.  So this month, I decided to share my goals and be held accountable.  So here they are:

1. Get Christmas shopping done.
I know this is a big one.  With finals, traveling and everything else that happens in December, I feel like I’m scrambling to get my Christmas shopping done at the last minute.  Plus, I’d rather avoid the Christmas mob as much as possible!
2. Eat veggies with each meal.
I’m pretty good at this one but it could still use some attention.  There is such a variety of vegetables I enjoy, that there’s no reason to skimp!
3. Get to the gym 3-4 days a week.  
I always feel happier, more balanced, less tired and less stressed when I make the effort to get exercise regularly.  
To remind myself of these goals, I wrote them on a sticky and put it on my laptop.  I even got myself some stickers to put on my calendar each day I make it to the gym.  
Photobucket
What motivates me?  Stickers. Clearly, I never moved on from elementary school.  Such a dork.
Photobucket
Two days down this week!  That heart sticker on Saturday is a reminder to give Hunter his heartworm medicine.  In case you were wondering. 
Let me tell you a story about the relationship I have with bananas.  I only eat them if they are yellow.  One brown dot and I won’t touch it.  Unfortunately, in the past, this has led to a lot of abandoned bananas.  I try my hardest to either add them to smoothies or peel and freeze them for banana soft serve or baking. 
I went all out and made a loaf of banana bread and a loaf of pumpkin banana bread.  I’m assuming all of you have your favorite banana bread recipe but maybe would enjoy a pumpkin banana bread one?  It’s ok, I know there’s a zillion pumpkin recipes out there.  Cheers to blog trends. 
Pumpkin Banana Bread
(adapted from allrecipes.com)

2 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
1/3 c. plain applesauce 
1 1/3 c. pumpkin puree (has anyone turned orange from all this pumpkin?!?)
1/4 c. honey
1/4 c. sugar
1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
dash of salt
2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp. cinnamon
3/4 c. raisins (optional)
1/4 c. walnuts, roughly chopped (optional)
1. Preheat to 350 F and grease your loaf pan.
2. Mix banana, eggs, applesauce, pumpkin, honey and sugar.  Combine flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon.
3.  Once the dry ingredients are mixed, add to the wet ingredients.  Fold in the raisins and walnuts, if you are using them.  (I skipped this step, but I think I’ll add them next time!)
4. Pour into prepared pan and bake for about 45-50 min.  If a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean, you’re done!

Photobucket
Yummmm!
In grocery shopping news, I found this 100% cherry juice on sale this week and decided to pick some up.  
Photobucket
No added sugar.  This is good stuff.
I know a few posts ago, I mentioned I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal.  I’m not.  Sort of.  Mostly, I don’t  like making it from scratch.  I’m lazy.  But I do like it on cooler mornings.  Now you think I’m a hypocrite.  Hey, this box will probably last me all winter.
Anyways, I picked up this flavor to test out and gave it two thumbs up.
Photobucket
The nutrition stats are decent.  I think.  Anyone want to give their thoughts on this?
Photobucket
I like to add some freeze dried fruit before cooking for more texture.
I also bought my first ever kombucha squash.  I have to find out what all the raving is about.  Although there were several other interesting types of squash I may have to try once I’ve eaten this one.
Photobucket
Kombu-what?
After noticing these in the grocery store for a couple of weeks and then seeing Julie’s tutorial on how to cut one open, I was dying of curiosity.
Photobucket
Pomegranate! 
I want to say I’ve tried one once before a long time ago.  Apparently, you’re supposed to pick one that is heavy for it’s size.  This thing was huge, like the size of a grapefruit!  Are they usually that large?
Photobucket
It begins.  
Photobucket
This sucker was juicy!
Photobucket
Reaping the rewards.
The verdict: kind of tasted similar to red grapes.  To be completely honest, I’m not a fan of seedy fruits (like raspberries) so the seeds kind of bothered me.  But I really liked the sweet/tart flavor.  It was definitely an amusing snack!  
When trying a new fruit, I always get a little anxious.  About a year ago, I discovered I was allergic to mangoes.  The hard way.  I get fever blisters on my lips and they get very swollen and stung as if someone had put cinnamon oil on them.  For someone who already has full lips, this made me look like collagen injections gone bad!  Keeping fingers crossed, just in case.
I better get some sleep, I haven’t been to BodyPump in quite a while and I’m sure it’s going to kick my boo-tay.

How do you like to prepare kombucha squash?

What’s you’re opinion on pomegranates? Like them or not?
9 thoughts on “New month, new goals, new food

  1. Love the stickers!! I've never had kombucha, actually never had squash before. I bought a spaghetti squash, butternut and acorn to start with ;)I don't have enough patience to cut into them, so i buy the seeds from trader joe's :)Jenhttp://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  2. Ahh I'm so gad you bought a kabocha squash!! It is my absolute favorite! I think I made you try some last winter when you came over for dinner…remember that? :-)The pumpkin banana bread looks scrumptious! Thanks for the recipe…You can never have too many pumpkin recipes, in my opinion. And I'm a huge sucker for stickers…When I was little, that's all I asked for for Christmas until one year that's all I got. Haha.

Leave a Reply

