Change is the Only Constant

-Proverb Quote

Happy November everyone!  Sheesh, where has the last year gone?  Time really flies when you’re getting old having fun.

I ended up not dressing up for Halloween this year which was sort of lame.  But at least Hunter got in the spirit!

Photobucket
Remember this? It even glows in the dark.  Am I the only one who thinks things that glow in the dark are just the coolest?  I had a gazillion glow in the dark stars on my ceiling growing up.

Yesterday was pretty low key, just went to a friend’s house and spend the evening with her and her family.

Photobucket

For dinner, they made this fantastic beef stew in a pumpkin.  Lorna said “I knew that you would put dinner on your blog, so I had to make something interesting.” Awesome.  Now I know whose house to go to when I’m having cooking block.  ðŸ˜‰

Photobucket
I was amazed by this.  It was so good!

Photobucket
We carved pumpkins (well, the kids started them and we finished them), played games, watched the halloween special for modern family and funniest home videos.

After territory was established, Hunter and their dog Scout got along pretty well, they even played tug-o-war together.

Photobucket
Scout gave Hunter a pretty good fight!

Photobucket
Aren’t they cute??  I love this look on Hunter’s face.

Photobucket
When I came home, I had some surprise goodies left by my friend, Amy.

Photobucket
She always comes up with some cute little craft!

Lately, I’ve been experiencing a lot of changes/letdowns/stress.  Ah, this makes me sound like an emotional mess, but hey, I’m a woman.   Anyways, one day I was thinking to myself “I hate change”.  In fact, the reason change is disliked, it because we fear the unknown.  

After further reflection, I realized that good or bad, changes happen all the time.  And maybe, just maybe, change is a necessary thing.  Change brought the end of WWII, the end of the Berlin wall.  If we did not have change, there would be no children, no growing wiser, no change of heart.  I realize that, like all things in the world the good balances the bad.  Sometimes, it feels as though there are a lot more uncomfortable changes than easy ones, but I think that they all even out in the end.

I was talking with Jeremy about this and we came to the conclusion that we’d rather take bad changes with the good, than no changes at all.  The quote below pretty much says it all:

“We cannot change the past.  We cannot change the fact that people act in a certain way.  We cannot change the inevitable.  The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude.
-Charles R. Swindoll


I think this is a powerful quote because, as humans we do have an amazing power to overcome anything we put our minds to.  We have the choice to give up because of a difficult change or to persevere.   It gave me comfort that no matter what comes our way, we can learn and grow from experiencing it.

How do you deal with change?


What are you looking forward to about November?

9 thoughts on “Change is the Only Constant

  1. What a good post! Change does happen all the time – we can't prevent it! So I say just make the best of it :)In November, I'm looking forward to FNCE this weekend and getting fitted for invisalign 🙂

  2. My mom is so awesome with her stew in pumpkins. I deal with change well if I'm in control of it, but I lose it if I can't control what's happening. By losing it I mean becoming the emotional mess you fear you're coming across as. Here I am. In the flesh. Emotional mess. Always it seems.And I'm looking forward to a lot of things in November- like my madre's ornament party! Are you going?

  3. The thing about changes is that it makes us feel out of control, and powerless. But we do have power, as you pointed out. We have the power to change our attitude and thoughts towards our situation, no matter how uncomfortable it may make us at first.

  4. I like change when I am the one making the change. When bad things happen and it changes everything, I feel hopeless and out of control and I hate that feeling! Having 3 kids; every day is crazy and full of change and it's something I have had to adapt to :)Jenhttp://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

