Let’s Talk Food

Oh, let me tell you. I am SORE. I did a killer lower body work out on Monday and still walking around like a drunk cripple. It feels good to have incorporated exercise back into my regular routine, even it it’s only 15-20 minutes per day. Every little bit counts and Hunter is definitely enjoying the extra walks!
AND my recent goal to eat healthier has been coming along pretty well. I definitely feel and see a difference already!

Wednesday is my favorite day. Not necessarily because it’s the middle of the week (but that’s certainly a plus) but because it means that the bulk of my classes are done for the week. All that’s left is math tomorrow and chem lab on Saturday (yes, you read that right SATURDAY– there’s no way around the fact that class on Saturday afternoon sucks) Whew! Time to catch up on my DVR recordings. Currently on the list are: Real Housewives of Atlanta & Beverly Hills, America’s Next Top Model, Millionaire Matchmaker, The Event and Biggest Loser. I know, a pretty shallow line-up, but with my class schedule I don’t want to think when I’m relaxing!

Last week, I had a little middle of the semester crisis where I felt like I couldn’t take much more and the end of the semester seemed so far off. Just when I felt like my head was barely above water, I discovered that I had gotten the extra credit question–worth 10 points–on my last A&P exam. Yay! I love it when I finally catch a break.

I choose not to make every post about food because 1) a lot of my food is boring, 2) I’m too hungry to remember to take a picture, or 3) I eat a lot of leftovers.
I try to do a bunch of cooking over the weekend so that I have lots of healthy quick options during the week. This weekend I made:
-steamed carrots and broccoli
-brown rice (so good with a little sweet chili sauce)
-whipped sweet potatoes
-corn bread
Photobucket
Sorry Hunter, none for you.
Photobucket
Apple butter optional. After buying a jar when visiting my parents, I begged my mom to send me a case of this scrumptious spread. Thanks mom!
Photobucket
It may or may not help with math homework.
Photobucket
I was skeptical about this dish because sometimes ground turkey tastes dry in recipes, but not in this! It was the perfect balance of turkey, spices, tomatoes cheese and penne. More than happy to eat several meals of this!
-lemon pepper rotisserie chicken (ok, ok, this I bought at the grocery store)
Lemon pepper stirfry (made with some of the lemon pepper chicken- sneaky!)
Photobucket
After craving mongolian BBQ, I’m so glad I whipped this up instead! Green pepper, red pepper, cauliflower, mushrooms, green beans and carrots. I just added a bit of peanut sauce to the sauce recipe.
Apple crisp I was out of ice cream, but vanilla yogurt was an excellent compliment.
Photobucket
I bought a huge bag of apples with the intent (and success!) of choosing fruit over sweets to curb my sweet tooth. I still had a few left that were getting soft (blech) and when I saw Lisa’s recipe for Apple Crisp which looked fairly healthy I was more than happy to use up those apples. Yum! Thanks Lisa!
On that note, a couple of weeks ago, my friend Carrie gave me a blog award. Thanks Carrie! This really made my day! She is currently eating vegan for a month which I have to commend her for. I’d have a hard time giving up my cheese!
Photobucket
I keep forgetting to pass the award on! So without further delay, here’s my picks!
1. Christina Food.Fun.Fabulous She always makes the sweetest comments!
2. Mary Bites and Bliss I love that she has a horse and goes to Auburn (my daddy’s alma mater)
3. Linzi Destination 26.2 Besides being a fellow Idaho blogger, she just ran a marathon!
4. Tina Faith, Fitness, Fun She always sees the positive side in things even on a bad day!
5. Katie Health for the Whole Self She was among the first blogs I started reading and she is so thoughtful!
6. Em Homecookedem Anyone who can teach first graders should be awarded often.
7. Lisa I’m An Okie Besides an awesome apple crisp recipe, she is always true to herself.
8. Jen Jen’s Losin’ It! She has a beautiful family and her blog is bursting with flavor.
9. Sara Nourish and Flourish My longtime friend. 🙂 I can’t wait to see her at Thanksgiving!
10. Christina Hungry Meets Healthy Her posts are always full of fun, smiles and terrific eats!
11. Erin The Healthy Apron She is full of nutrition advice and amazing recipes.
12. Nicole Simple Moments I was just starting out when she stopped by, she’s been great support!
And the guidelines:
1. Save the image above and post it to your own blog
2. Pass the award on to 12 fellow bloggers
3. Link the nominees
4. Let nominees know they have won this award by commenting on their blog
5. Share the love and link to the person you received this award from.
Ok friends, I am off to get some homework done and then it’s time for SLEEP.

What shows have you been watching lately?

And to mix things up: what kind of car do you drive? (or wish you drove!)
14 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Food

  1. omg thank you! this is so awesome 🙂 btw though, for some reason this post didn't show up in my blogroll today. I'm not sure what is up with that so there might be some issue!PS- I love biggest loser and ANTM too hehe. And I drive a Saturn SL1. I call it my putt putt car because it has no acceleration but it's been pretty good to me the past 6 years!

  2. THANK you for the award! whoohoo. and omg. I have hit that point a few times—the "I CANT TAKE THIS ANYMORE" point. school, work, maintaining a social life, being healthy–it gets rough! so, this staycation Im on is helping tremendously! although, I wish every week could be like this!

  3. How sweet are you!!!!!!! Thank you so much for the award and your kind words. This truly makes my day!! 🙂 That apple crisp is making me drool!! I really need to make it soooooooooooon!! :)Have a wonderful evening!! xoxo

  4. Aww, thanks for the award! I am SO excited to see you at Thanksgiving! I'll be home for the entire week, so we need to have at least one dinner date (cameras in tow, of course!). :-)Yummy dinner ideas! I have had NO time to cook over the past few weeks…Or blog for that matter! That apple crisp has me drooling! YUM! ❤

  5. Aww, thanks for the award! I am SO excited to see you at Thanksgiving! I'll be home for the entire week, so we need to have at least one dinner date (cameras in tow, of course!). :-)Yummy dinner ideas! I have had NO time to cook over the past few weeks…Or blog for that matter! That apple crisp has me drooling! YUM! ❤

Leave a Reply

