A Student’s Life

Most of you know by now, that I’ve returned to school after a 2 year hiatus. I admire those who can power through 4 or 5 years of college after high school, I really REALLY do.

But it wasn’t for me.
Between personal struggles, getting a full time job and then getting married I needed a break. I was burned out from school and wasn’t making the effort that I was capable of. Taking a break from school was the best thing I could do. It helped me mature, refocus and become motivated.
There was one thing I forgot about going to school. Diet. I suddenly was in and out of classes, studying for tests and doing homework nightly (sometimes weekend nights too!). TV? Collecting dust most of the week. Cooking was a luxury.
When it came to meal time, I just ate the first thing I saw without taking time to consider a balanced meal. After a few weeks, I was feeling the effects of my poor eating habits. I realized I’d barely touched a vegetable and I decided to make it a goal to make sure the majority of each meal was vegetables.
It really wasn’t too hard to add these in. I always pick up some veggies when grocery shopping, but then they would get forgotten in the fridge. I decided, no more! Here’s just a sampling of some of my re-discovered favorites:
Photobucket
Chicken sandwich with cucumber and spinach. Red pepper strips.
Photobucket
Green monster of course. Spinach, chocolate protein powder, skim milk, soy milk, flax seeds and ice.
Photobucket
Spinach omelet.
Photobucket
The star of the week: pizucchini and whipped sweet potatoes.
I’ve also enjoyed spaghetti squash sprinkled with parmesan and an artichoke but no pictures of those.
Sometimes, I’ve had to remind myself to take a break and use the other side of my brain for fun things like shopping and getting creative.
Photobucket
Oh so pretty pink sweater.
I went to the craft store with my friend and decided to make my own fall wreath instead of making one.
Isn’t it pretty?
Photobucket
You can almost smell orange spice, nutmeg and cinnamon just looking at it.
Photobucket
I hung it over the fireplace as recommended by my friend Lorna.
Saturday, I had the lucky opportunity to go to the BSU football game. I had such a blast!
Photobucket
Here I am with my “adopted sister” Sheridan.
Photobucket
They have this dog (the orange speck in the middle of the picture) that runs out on the field to get the thing they kick the ball off of (uh, anyone know what that’s called?). It was so cool to watch!
Photobucket
Our field is blue. We’re just cool like that. 😉
We won. 57 to 14. I loved every minute of it.


What did you do this weekend?

What’s your most and least favorite vegetable?
My most favorite is sweet potatoes. Least favorite is brussels sprouts!
5 thoughts on “A Student’s Life

  1. It is SO hard to eat a balanced diet when life is so busy. I totally hear you! I've been trying to add the extra fruits and veggies myself, especially since I didn't eat so well on vacation. 🙂 Love the wreath, by the way!

  2. I've been dealing with the same problem, Meg! The only difference is that I'm not back in school yet! When life gets busy, it's SO easy to put preparing healthy meals on the back burner. I tend to turn to Amy's when completely desperate (but I guess it could be worse!). :-)LOVE that pink sweater! Gorgeous! Did you end up buying it?And the wreath looks awesome over the fireplace…what a great idea!I love all vegetables, but my favorite is probably kabocha squash!

  3. I can totally relate Meg! When I was going to college and working it was so hard to make balanced eating choices. Even now, I have to force myself to pack healthy snacks with me to work. And I am always so glad I did. I feel so much better when I have good for me snacks at hand. Glad you got to see the broncos play! I haven't been to a game this season yet. I'm hoping soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

