Crock-pot Southwest steak and beans

Aw, you guys are just the best. Thanks to all who posted congratulations on my anniversary post. And thanks to all my readers who stopped by!


If I had to cook for the rest of my life with one appliance, it would definitely be my crock-pot. Even though most of the recipes aren’t particularly aesthetically pleasing, they really hit the spot on a cool fall day.
And speaking of fall, I’ve finally witnessed some true fall weather. That rain you southern gals mentioned has been making it’s way up to me! Truthfully, I don’t mind rain. I love the smell and I love how much greener everything looks.
Photobucket
The view out my back door. The canal runs right by!
When I first got my crock-pot, I went recipe crazy. I googled, bookmarked and emailed myself hundreds of recipes. I’m sure most of you can relate to having more recipes than you know what to do with! Some recipes stuck, some were disasters and some were instant hits.
This was one of the hits. It’s sort of a surprising combination of chunky salsa, a pound and a half of chuck steak (really, any kind works, you just cook it falls apart into tender morsels), beans (also, whatever kind you want), canned corn, some oregano, chili powder, salt and pepper. It’s not quite stew and not really chili either. You can literally make this with your eyes closed. Dump everything in and cook overnight. Just a little planning ahead is all. You really can’t get much lazier.
Southwest Steak and Beans
1 1/2 lbs steak (look for good, even marbling in the steak– that’s what my hubby taught me!)
1/2 onion, chopped (I used red onion I had on hand)
3 cloves garlic, minced
16 oz jar chunky salsa
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper
1 can black beans
1 can garbonzo beans
1 can corn
(optional: 2 bell peppers, chopped)
Lightly spray the inside of the pot with olive oil. Place chopped onion and minced garlic in the bottom of the pot. Place the steak (don’t worry about cutting it up or anything) on top.
In a separate bowl, combine salsa, oregano, chili powder, salt and pepper. Pour over steak. Add in both cans of beans and corn. (Optional: you can add 2 chopped bell peppers instead of corn.)
Cook for 9 hours on low, stirring occasionally. During the last hour, you should be able to easily break up the steak with a cooking spoon. When the meat is tender and falls apart, you know you’re done!
p.s. Try not to get overeager and burn your tongue. Take it from me πŸ˜‰
Photobucket
Told ya, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

What is the one kitchen appliance you couldn’t live without (other than the oven and stove)?

Do you like rain/cooler weather?
8 thoughts on “Crock-pot Southwest steak and beans

  1. It's been raining here for 3 days and I've had enough. I don't mind 1 day but this is far too much! πŸ™‚ Oh and in case you didn't realize I replied to your question on my blog. I'll just tell you again here – I use Windows Live Writer now and they have a feature to insert videos from a webpage! Easy as pie πŸ™‚ or should I say easy as crock-pot cooking!

  2. It's been raining here for 3 days and I've had enough. I don't mind 1 day but this is far too much! πŸ™‚ Oh and in case you didn't realize I replied to your question on my blog. I'll just tell you again here – I use Windows Live Writer now and they have a feature to insert videos from a webpage! Easy as pie πŸ™‚ or should I say easy as crock-pot cooking!

Leave a Reply

