Happy Birthday to my Pup!

Ok, crisis averted. Dealing with car accidents is a pain in the butt but thankfully, I knew of a good body shop that, with my insurance company, made things pretty easy.

I don’t actually know exactly when Hunter’s birthday is, but we figure it’s about this time of year. Now he is 3ish. (Have I ever mentioned I love the number 3? And 23!)
Photobucket
I’d never had a dog before but I had always wanted a golden retriever. My neighbors had two when I was growing up and they’d pay us to take care of their dogs when they were out of town. My brother and I thought it was the greatest ever. When my husband said he wanted a golden retriever too, he immediately started scouring the newspaper for ads.

Photobucket

We bought him at a farm out in the middle of eastern Idaho. I mean literally, you drive to the middle of nowhere and keep going. The lady knew I was coming and when I showed up, I saw the mamma retriever coming toward the drive with a bunch of bouncing furballs behind her. This is how I picked out Hunter:
He was a little more curious than the rest of the litter and came over to inspect the situation. He was scooped up and the lady said, “How about this one?”.
I said “yep, looks good to me.”
Photobucket
I tucked him in a cardboard box with a towel and brought him to his new home. He cried the whole way. And every night that week. I wondered how long it would go on for? After that first week though, he slept through the night, or at least didn’t cry.
Photobucket
Deciding what to name him took a little bit of time. I wanted to give him a human name. I can’t really remember most of the suggestions I made that Jeremy wasn’t crazy about, I remember one was Sebastian. Ironically, I thought of the name Hunter since we considered teaching him to be a hunting dog. That never happened, but the name stuck.
Photobucket
The puppy stage was fun but tough. I carried him everywhere. We’d walk around the block and he’d bite his leash. He LOVES the snow. But boy, was he a naughty puppy. Chewing up everything, crying when we left him at home alone, typically puppy stuff really. We almost gave him away twice.
Photobucket
But I’m so glad we didn’t. We treat him like our child. He is pretty high energy and spoiled and probably thinks he’s human but he is very patient. He’s gentle with kids (well unless his tail whips them) and loves everyone and anyone.
Photobucket
But he definitely is protective of his family.
Photobucket
When we are sad, he looks up at us with the most mournful eyes. Come to think of that, he does it when he’s hungry or when he see’s you eating anything.
Photobucket
He is our best friend.
Photobucket
He is the best company and doesn’t talk back.
Most of the time,
Photobucket
he’s just content to lay at my feet,
Photobucket
or taking a walk or jog.
Photobucket
Hunter is the best dog. Ever.
Photobucket
So this year, I thought I’d give him something special.
Photobucket
You can tell he loves it. 😉 I found a halloween costume large enough for a 90 lb. dog!
Photobucket
Only $8 at Wal-Mart. How could I resist! In honor of currently learning about the skeleton. Isn’t he so cute? Clearly he isn’t amused. Don’t worry, I fed him dinner after and all was forgiven.

What’s your favorite number?

What do you love about your pet?
11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to my Pup!

  1. I love all the pics of your pup! So adorable! And the halloween costume is awesome too. I don't currently have a pet, but I think me and the bf will be getting a dog in the near future!! 🙂 And ps. My favorite number is also 23. It may have to do with my birthday being on May 23!

  2. Awwwwwww, so cute!! Happy Birthday to such a handsome dog! I have a thing for the number 3 also. I love both of our dogs so much. I love their loyalty and how they always know how to cheer me up after a bad day.

  3. so cute! I have a sweater for my pup but no Halloween costume. She's a 2 year old black lab named Lena but she is pretty small, only 63 lbs. She is the biggest ball of energy and I love it! Oh and my favorite number is 119 because it's a combination of my birthday and my brother's birthday 🙂 We find it EVERYWHERE, it's so weird!

  4. aww I love this post! I'm sending it to my husband because we both want a golden retriever! HE wants to start with a puppy too though and I'm a bit nervous with the challenges you faced when he was a pup! Hopefully by then I'll be a stay at home wife (with baby on the way) and will not leave him too long! LOve the costume! He looks miserable but SO cute!

  5. Awwe happy birthday, Hunter! He's such a cutie. :)I love my pets because of their personality. Both my cat and horse are so talkative and they can have a real attitude..but they're so freakin cute you can't help but love them. 🙂

  6. Happy Birthday Hunter….. Hi babe i love the diff pics you put together of hunter. Your the best weef always remembering spec. times and things in our life. Happy 3 year anniversary I love you so much

  7. Happy Birthday Hunter….. Hi babe i love the diff pics you put together of hunter. Your the best weef always remembering spec. times and things in our life. Happy 3 year anniversary I love you so much

  8. I love all the pics of your pup! So adorable! And the halloween costume is awesome too. I don't currently have a pet, but I think me and the bf will be getting a dog in the near future!! 🙂 And ps. My favorite number is also 23. It may have to do with my birthday being on May 23!

Leave a Reply

