The Ultimate Muffin of Fall

I’m glad that every one enjoyed the pumpkin crumb bar recipe. Isn’t google great? It’s fun reading about the college football teams every one is rooting for this fall. πŸ™‚ I sincerely appreciate each and every comment even if it’s just a hello!


Right now, you might be thinking, “Does this girl live on baked goods alone?” Rest assured that I share the fruits of my oven with many a friend and family member. Besides, I’ve been on a strict busy student diet of microwave burritos. Just kidding. Sort of.
I’m truly a baker at heart. I surprised myself with my growing capabilities to actually cook meals and now I’m back to where it all began. I’ve been baking with my mom as long as I can remember. At Christmas time, my brother and I would fight over making the shape cookies.
With a busy school schedule, baking is the one thing that can help me feel sane. Nothing is more comforting than the scent of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, pumpkin and peaches filling my house as I slave away over homework.
I needed to use up some peaches and pumpkin. Quite an interesting combination right? This recipe almost didn’t make it onto my blog. I took some chances altering the original recipe (it asked for 2, count em 2 cups of sugar!) and had no idea how it would turn out. Thankfully, they came out spenldidly.
These muffins are seriously the best thing I’ve made in a long time. They aren’t really pretty, but the taste makes up for it.
Ingredients:
2 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
1/2 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c. packed splenda and brown sugar blend
(or 1/4 c. regular brown sugar)
1 tbsp. pumpkin pie spice
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
2 eggs, slightly beaten
2 c. pumpkin puree
1/8 c. vegetable oil
2 peaches, chopped (I was lazy and didn’t chop them very finely and it turned out just fine)
Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all dry ingredients (sugars, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking soda).
In a large bowl, combine eggs, pumpkin and oil. Mix in dry ingredients. Fold in peaches. Fill greased (or lined) muffin tins about 3/4 full. Bake for 25-30 minutes.
Photobucket
Best when eaten warm!
I hope everyone has taken a moment to pause today and reflect on the events of 9/11/2001.
I was listening to the radio on my way to school when I first heard. I think that’s when I lost my childhood innocence. Suddenly, I realized what we were vulnerable. Never was I more grateful for my friends and family.
May we never forget…
Photobucket

What fall dishes have you been making?

Who is your favorite college football team?

Where were you on 9/11?
10 thoughts on “The Ultimate Muffin of Fall

  1. Oh wow! This muffin looks sooo good.On 9-11, I woke up to the news (on the West Coast) that we'd been hit. I was a mix of emotions, it was so confusing for me to wrap my head around, as a junior in HS. We watched the news in all my classes and to this day, I still won't ever forget those images and what this country did to come together after such a tragedy.

  2. I actually havent made an Fall recipes yet. :/ I can't find pumpkin!! But once I got my hands on some I'll definitely be whipping tons of stuff up. :PMy favorite college football team? AUBURN!!!! πŸ˜€ But that's only cause I go here.

  3. Those muffins sound great too! I have been on a baking kick too lately. I busted out mini pumpkin scones today – but still have a bit of pumpkin leftover for your bars! Can't wait. It must be all the combo of pumpkin and fall keeping me going! LOL and Go Broncos! πŸ™‚

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! The world seems very small sometimes. :)I was at home getting ready for work on Sept 11th. Watched CNN coverage of the 2nd plane, and then we all watched the news at work that day.Fave team: University of Saskatchewan Huskies. πŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog! The world seems very small sometimes. :)I was at home getting ready for work on Sept 11th. Watched CNN coverage of the 2nd plane, and then we all watched the news at work that day.Fave team: University of Saskatchewan Huskies. πŸ™‚

  6. Those muffins sound great too! I have been on a baking kick too lately. I busted out mini pumpkin scones today – but still have a bit of pumpkin leftover for your bars! Can't wait. It must be all the combo of pumpkin and fall keeping me going! LOL and Go Broncos! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

