Yummy in my Tummy

I was so touched by the outpouring of sincere comments on my last post. I’m truly grateful for such a positive response to it. Each comment was so touching. I definitely did not write the post to feel sorry for myself, it was just something that I felt I needed to get off my chest. I can’t say I was surprised that some of you shared similar experiences. I’m really glad that I wrote about it. It was truly a learning process as I digested my experiences and thought about how I learned and grew from them. As Eleanor Roosevelt said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your permission.”


With school well under way, blogging has definitely taken a backseat to all of the studying. I’m really loving being back in school. I just love learning new things. I forgot what a hobo I feel like carrying a book bag, a purse, more books, a water bottle etc. I’ve always wondered how is it that some girls wear heels to class? For me it’s sneakers, sneakers, sneakers. If I’m carrying all that stuff, I need good support!


Though I have had a lot less time for cooking, I’ve been trying to plan out meals ahead of time so I’m not scrambling after school when I’m ready to chew my arm off (or eat an entire bag of chips). I make sure to bring a snack in my bag to tie me over when I’m at school all afternoon and get plenty of water. With school, it’s always a little more difficult to eat intuitively because eating is definitely a stress relief for me. I’m doing my best to determine between hunger and stress as well as keeping up a fitness routine. Keeping a regular workout schedule of some kind definitely helps with school stress and the need to stress eat. Whew!

Here’s some of my eats from the last week:
Photobucket
Grilled shrimp and chicken from my dinner date with Sara at a Vietnamese restaurant Pho Nouveau.


Photobucket
I’ve been on a real kick for spinach and strawberry salads. Sunflower seeds and feta on top with raspberry vinaigrette.
Photobucket
Microwave lasagna. I’ve been craving it! Sometimes I do rely on microwave dinners.
Photobucket
Amy’s Asian noodle stir fry.
Photobucket
And all cooked up! A little watery, but not too bad! Definitely cured my craving for Asian.
Photobucket
Ever since I tried tart frozen yogurt I’ve been hooked.
Photobucket
With a peach.
Photobucket
With strawberries. The possibilities are endless.
Photobucket
Sometimes, you just gotta have them.
Photobucket
Andrea’s chocolate toffee almond (I used walnuts instead) bars. If you aren’t reading Can You Stay For Dinner yet, go there. Now. Then find lots of friends and family to help you eat all that deliciousness.
I was craving some crock pot comfort food so Saturday night, I made my very own crock pot shepherd’s pie. After looking at a few recipes, I made up my own.
Crock Pot Shepherd’s Pie

1 lb of ground turkey (plus I added 1/2 lb. leftover buffalo meat)
half an onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic minced
1 can cream of mushroom
1/2 c. water
2c. frozen mixed vegetables
2-3 c. mashed potatoes
salt and pepper to taste
Photobucket
It’s like a secret in the crock pot under all those mashed potatoes.
1. Cook the ground turkey, onion and garlic until the turkey is browned. Drain. Spray crock pot with non-stick spray. Add turkey, frozen veggies, water and cream of mushroom and mix. Season with salt and pepper.
2. Layer mashed potatoes on top. **Side note: I had some left over boxed garlic and parmesan mashed potatoes and then I cooked up some mashed reds and combined the two. The extra garlic and parmesan really complimented the rest of the dish.**

3. Cook on low for 6 hours or on high for 3.
Photobucket
Not the prettiest dish but hearty and comforting.
Since I couldn’t eat this for a week straight, I put half of it in tupperware and froze it for later.
Ok, back to hitting the books!

What food kicks have you been on lately?

How do you determine between stress and hunger?
5 thoughts on “Yummy in my Tummy

  1. i've been on an oatmeal kick for WEEKS. for the past 2-3 i've been on a avocado kick. soooo good. i love summer fruits! shepherd's pie YUMMM. very comforting. my mom used to make that all the time.

  2. I was gone over the weekend so I just looked back at the post you were talking about. I'm so glad you were able to overcome and rise above those petty girls! It's ridiculous how true the movie Mean Girls really is….

  3. LOVE the crockpot recipe and can't wait to try it!! When I'm stressed, I want to eat, so I'm still working on the being good on the bad days. 🙂 Definitely healthy snacks are a real must. My latest craving is red pepper hummus with cauliflower. Soooo good!! Of course, a bit of chocolate here and there is a must too. 🙂

  4. I feel you on the lugging-around-tons-of-stuff-around-campus thing! Luckily most of my classes don't require the textbooks so all that's in my bag is a few notebooks which isn't too heavy. But yeah, girls in heels- what gives? We have to walk *at least* two miles a day around campus. I don't see how they can deal.

  5. Oh yeah, I can NEVER understand girls who walk around with heavy bags and laptop on high heels! How do they do that? It's trait that makes me think they are either stupid or really talented.I'm glad you're loving school so much! Nerds unite! >__<

Leave a Reply

