Schooled

Today was my first day back to school in 3 years. I know, I can’t believe I’m that old. I got up bright and early (which means 9:30 am). The day started off great… and sort of went downhill after my Anatomy and Physiology class. More on that in a minute. Let’s talk about the weekend first.

I got old fashioned vanilla fro yo:
Photobucket
with cookie dough, granola and caramel. It was the perfect combination that really hit the spot. Mmm… I could totally go for some of that right now.
Watched The Runaways. I thought both Kristen and Dakota did a great job. Quite a gritty flick.
Rode my dirtbike.
You see, one of my very first posts I wrote about getting a dirtbike. My husband has been riding forever and I wanted to join in on the fun. Then I wrote about my first ride and first wreck. It’s a slow learning process, but every time I go I feel more and more in control with my bike.
Photobucket
It’s a scary thing, learning something new. Scared of falling, scared of failing, scared of what other people think, wanting to prove to myself and others that I can do it. Wanting to just be good at it already!
Photobucket
I went riding with Jeremy and we went to a pretty easy place that was fairly flat with a few short hills and shallow bumps.
Photobucket
Here’s his brand new bike. A 2010 KTM 300 XC-W. In simple terms, really powerful and tough to get your hands on.
I am getting better every time! Jeremy was quite impressed with my progress.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
You know I had to get at least one prissy picture in there! πŸ˜‰
I had such a blast and didn’t fall once. The next night, the KTM dealer was having an informal technique class, so I decided to go and see what it was all about. We learned some balance exercises for at home, what the correct position on the bike should be and how it affects the momentum of the bike, how to properly pick up your bike after a wreck and to always balance on the balls of your feet. It was pretty technical stuff but things that really make for a better ride. I learned a lot and can’t wait to start practicing the things I learned.
The thing about a lot of sports is you do as well as you allow yourself to do. A lot of times, I get scared of failing and just give up instead of sticking with it. One thing I’ve learned is that as soon as you start doubting yourself, you’ll fall. I think that’s true for a lot of things in life. You have to keep trying until you actually fall or you succeed. I’m learning to be more forgiving of myself and to have more confidence in my capabilities.
Which thankfully helped me out today. So I drive out to my Anatomy & Physiology class, find an awesome parking spot (and I the only one who really relishes in a prized parking spot?) and went to class. I like my teacher. He seems knowledgeable, but also funny and approachable.
Then all hell broke loose. Ok, not really, but I’d been having trouble adding my math and chemistry classes so I waited in line for an HOUR to see someone about it. When I finally got in, they said I didn’t have the prerequisite for the math class, and I had to take a math class with my chem class. So I went to see if I could test into the math class, but no such luck.
I went and got back in line and another 30 minutes. The guy I talked to this time was kind of a tool and said that I’d have to take (basically beginners) math. Ugh. Oh no, he did NOT!
Luckily, the woman I walked to before intervened and said that based on the math classes on my transcripts I could jump up and take another math class. Whew. I will still need to take the original math class next semester but better than having to wait another year based on one class to apply for my program. Well, it’s been a while since I’ve take math, so I couldn’t be all that surprised. Problem is, all the math classes I need to take this semester are full. Arg!! So tomorrow I’ll have to hope and pray that I can find a class that I can get the ok from the teacher to let me join. Cross your fingers and pray for me!
It probably didn’t help that all I’d eaten that whole day was one measly Powerbar. Atleast I toted a long my water bottle! I was sort of in a grumpy mood after all that waiting around and getting bad news. I haven’t given up though. I’m sure by the end of the week, I will have gotten my schedule figured out and today will be a thing of the past.
Check out my awesome new hat I wore to school today:
Photobucket
I’m 24 and don’t really give a crap about looking cute for class. πŸ˜‰
Tonight, I stopped by CostCo to pick up something for dinner and came home with this:
Photobucket
Lettuce wraps!
Photobucket
I ate the whole thing.
Photobucket
And topped it off with some cherries.
I feel less grumpy already. πŸ™‚

Have you ever had a frustrating school situation?

How do you deal with your fears of trying something new?

How do you feel when you find an awesome parking spot?
8 thoughts on “Schooled

  1. look at you on the bike! nice!! i need encouragement from friends before trying something new…i LOVE finding good parking spots! i get so excited and call myself the parking angel. hahaa

  2. First of all, love the hat! Secondly, biking looks so scary and so fun, all at the same time. You go, girl! I've only gone four-wheeling, which is fun but I think less scary. That's awesome that you're learning how to ride, even though it's a little scary!

  3. Awesome dirt biking adventure! Ive always wanted to ride a dirtbike but havent really had the chance to do so so far. I totally plan on having some when I get my own permanent place, though. ;)And scheduling situations like that *suck*! I remember freshman year..I registered for classes later than everyone else so all my classes were full. I had to get on waiting lists, email teachers, sit in hoping to eventually be added to the roster..uggh. But it all worked out in the end. πŸ™‚ And good luck with A&P! Fun stuff, huh?

  4. I hope this week has been good with school! It's always fun getting back into the swing of things :)My dad and little sister used to ride dirt bikes (before they sold them for motorcycles) – this was fun seeing this post!

Leave a Reply

