Scones Take Two

Before I headed to the gym Thursday night, I made these:
Photobucket
But we’ll get to them in a second.

I made it to the gym for my run the other night. Let’s just say that ice cream was NOT a good idea before. I totally cramped the last half of my 3 mile run. Thankfully, I still pushed through and accomplished what I set out for. I came home famished. Randomly, I was craving orange.

Photobucket
Carrot and sweet potato fries! I had three plates just like that. There. Hunger satiated.
The next morning I woke up surprisingly craving a sweet breakfast. As big as my sweet tooth is, I always reach for savory in the morning.
Photobucket
Whole wheat waffles! One with almond butter one with Brummel and Brown butter spread, both topped with sliced strawberries and plenty more strawberries on the side.
Photobucket
And a blueberry scone. Carbolicious.
Photobucket
And what’s a scone without tea? Green tea in fact! With a little sugar in the raw.
Photobucket
Hunter is a shameless beggar.
For a snack later, I revisited the PB & Co. White Chocolate Wonderful. Ok, NOW I taste the white chocolate.
Photobucket
Perfect on a pink lady apple.
Are you ready for scones?!?
Photobucket
Blueberry Buttermilk Scones

1 c. all purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
2 tbs granulated sugar plus extra for sprinkling
2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c. (1 stick) butter (I used unsalted)
1 heaping cup fresh blueberries
zest of one lemon
1/2 c. buttermilk (plus extra for topping)
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
extra sugar for sprinkling on top
Preheat oven to 375.
Whisk together flours, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add butter and blend with a pastry cutter. Gently stir in blueberries.
Note: these scones have much less sugar than the previous ones I made. If you like them sweeter, add another 2 tbs or so of sugar to the dry ingredients. These are more biscuit-like which is how I prefer them.
In a smaller bowl, whisk together lemon zest, buttermilk, egg and vanilla extract. Pour over dry ingredients and mix until almost all combined. Turn the dough out onto a work surface and gently knead once or twice to incorporate the rest of the flour.
Pat dough into a 1-inch thick round. Cut into wedges, brush the tops with buttermilk and sprinkle on sugar. Bake for about 25 minutes, or until golden. Transfer scones to a wire rack to cool.
Photobucket
Viola!

Hmm, I made myself hungry. I think I’ll go have one right now!
P.S. Does anyone know what I should do with my zested lemon?

What’s your best post-workout fuel?

What’s your favorite item to bake/cook?
14 thoughts on “Scones Take Two

  1. Ahh I love sweet potato and carrot fries!! I have the carrot fries pretty much every single day lol šŸ˜› I've only tried baking scones once and they were apricot ones (made with dried apricots) so they were good, but not nearly as flavorful as I bet yours are! *Bookmarked* I'm gonna give them a try with my mom when I go home next week!

  2. Those scones look really good. I'm not normally a huge scone fan since I like moister "cake" type things. If that makes any sense. Those look really good though. Good job pushing through the run. It must have been hard. Working out with stomach pains is never fun.

  3. I cook every night but I don't really know what my favorite thing to cook is. But I like making cookies and muffins, since I rarely do it. Yummers, maybe I should bake a batch this weekend (we have a holiday tomorrow, so there's still time!)

  4. Those scones look really good. I'm not normally a huge scone fan since I like moister "cake" type things. If that makes any sense. Those look really good though. Good job pushing through the run. It must have been hard. Working out with stomach pains is never fun.

  5. Ahh I love sweet potato and carrot fries!! I have the carrot fries pretty much every single day lol šŸ˜› I've only tried baking scones once and they were apricot ones (made with dried apricots) so they were good, but not nearly as flavorful as I bet yours are! *Bookmarked* I'm gonna give them a try with my mom when I go home next week!

Leave a Reply

