Festivals and Fridge Cleaning

Thank you everyone for your running comments and tips! All of you inspire me so much!


Photobucket
Hunter looking out the window at the rain.

Ok, I admit, I didn’t go to Body Pump. I slept in. When I finally woke up, I woke up to the sound of thunder. Thunder? I listened again. That’s either thunder or a LOT of rumbly trucks going by. Even my dog, who is so laid back was looking around wondering what all the ruckus was. When we got up to investigate, sure enough, there was a storm a brewing. However, 15 minutes later, it had passed by at things were bright and sunny again!
Let’s rewind just a little bit. Last night, I headed downtown to the Basque festival with Sara and two of our friends. It was fun listening to music, catching up and of course eating authentic cuisine!
Photobucket
Basque flag.
Photobucket
Authentic music. There’s two of them under the white tent. One is wearing a green shirt. See them? It’s like Where’s Waldo?
Photobucket
Some sort of wooden instrument. Sounded sort of island-y. They actually came from Colorado to perform at the festival!
Photobucket
Kyla and Sara enjoying some croquettas. Mmm.. fried cheesey goodness.
Photobucket
I got myself a lamb sandwich with sauteed onion and red pepper. Yum!
Some mornings, I forgo breakfast and skip right to brunch. But this morning, I was feeling like some yogurt, granola and peach. With some green tea of course.
Photobucket
Breakfast while catching up on blogs.
My plan today was to clean out the fridge. Lunch was the rest of my yellow farmer’s market beans and a meatball burrito. Yes, you read that right.
Photobucket
I’d been enjoying some homemade bean burritos for lunch, they’re such an easy fix! I just take a can of refried beans, add some green chilies and zap it in the microwave. However, I didn’t have quite enough beans so I cut up a few left over meatballs that needed to get eaten and stuffed those in too. It doesn’t look too exciting but was quite satisfying.
I also had a simple spinach salad with feta and grape tomatoes.
Photobucket
I’ve been lacking in the vegetable department but I definitely made up for it today!
Dinner was a new twist for me on a sweet potato.
Photobucket
I added some Bees Knees PB & Co. Mmm!
Here’s an interesting tidbit for you: when I was younger, I was allergic to tomatoes, nuts and citrus fruits. Thankfully, I outgrew my allergies. To this day, however, peanut butter is something that isn’t a big deal to me. I like it, but I guess I’m one of the few who isn’t crazy about it!
Tomorrow is running day!
Photobucket
Hunter hanging out with my running shoes. He likes to use them as a pillow.

I’m trying to figure out Google reader, anyone have any tips? Please?!?
What cultural events do you enjoy in your city?

What interesting meal have you made from your leftovers?


8 thoughts on “Festivals and Fridge Cleaning

  1. I love Google Reader!! Click on "add a subscription" to add in a blog you want to follow and then when they have something new for you to read the name will be bold. Email me if you have any other questions (homecookedem@gmail.com). Andrew made a really good omelet on Monday night with leftover porkchops. It was so good!!

  2. ahh i love google reader! i couldn't deal without it!it's so easy to see what's new and you can even mark stuff "unread" to read it again later. and you can have favorites too, by clicking on the star!

  3. That Basque Festival looks like fun!! Here in Minnesota we have our annual "Grand Old Day" where we shut down Grand Avenue and it's just a huge street festival. Love it! And you have a lot of faith in your dog to let him near your shoes! It's been months since my pup has chewed up any shoes, but I still don't trust him around them!

  4. That festival sure does look great! I love going to events like that. And I missed body pump today too. I knew my body just wasn't feeling it. Especially since I would have to go in the afternoon bec of a sick baby.

  5. That Basque Festival looks like fun!! Here in Minnesota we have our annual "Grand Old Day" where we shut down Grand Avenue and it's just a huge street festival. Love it! And you have a lot of faith in your dog to let him near your shoes! It's been months since my pup has chewed up any shoes, but I still don't trust him around them!

Leave a Reply

