The Story of Me and Sara

Happy Saturday! Hope everyone had a wonderful week. I’ve got some fun stuff coming up starting with…

…my very first guest blog presentation! Oh man, I’m so nervous about posting this.

Recently, I posted about having dinner with Sara from Nourish and Flourish. Excellent blog. Even more excellent writer of the blog. Many of you expressed how lucky I was to meet her and how sweet she is! Both are very true. However, there’s more to the story than meets the eye. You see, Sara and I have known each other for quite sometime. We just kept crossing paths!


We actually met for the first time in 4th grade. I searched and searched and searched for our 4th grade class picture, but to no avail. She went to a different school the next year but that wasn’t the end.

Fast forward to high school and we both ended up at Boise High! We had friends in common but just knew each other a little bit.

Photobucket
Wow, we are goofy. Even back then. πŸ˜‰

Photobucket
Sara is fouth from the right and I’m third from the right. I know, we were so young.

After high school, we ended up on opposite sides of the continent. I went to Victoria, BC, Canada. Sara went to Washington D.C.

We still saw each other from time to time at mutual friends’ gatherings.

Photobucket
Here we are at the BSU student union building for some bowling.

Photobucket
Here we are at our friend Laura’s 21st birthday.

This summer, Sara moved back to Idaho from D.C. for a little while. We started hanging out again and she mentioned she had started a blog. Well, I had started one but hadn’t done much with it. As I started reading hers, I realized that I belonged in the health/fitness niche as well. Along the way, we’ve encouraged and supported each other in our blogging adventures!


Photobucket
You might recognize this picture from her post on our visit to the Cheesecake Factory.

Sara an awesome friend, amazing baker/cook (seriously! I’m always impressed with her gourmet creations!) and true world traveler. We’ve had some awesome conversations about food and diet and living up to pressures of society. I’m so glad after all these years we’ve actually become better friends!

So, here’s a little Q & A from Sara herself:
(My comments in italics.)

1. When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?


I think it changed every week! Some of my career aspirations included: mermaid (just like Ariel), dancer, actress, cheerleader, professional soccer player and president.
(I love that she wanted to be Ariel. I wanted to be a princess!)


2. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Married to a dark, tall and handsome husband. 2.5 kids. White-picket fence. Golden retriever.
Kidding. :-p Hopefully I’ll be finished with grad school and established working as a dietitian promoting nutrition policy reform. I’d like to either live in Washington DC or the San Francisco Bay Area.


3. Favorite new recipe you’ve tried this year?

This is a tough question! One of my favorite new recipes is Spinach-and-Cheese-Stuffed Portobellos (which can be found on my blog).


4. What are three things you’re grateful for?

An incredibly supportive network of family and friends, the ability to walk, and my relationship with Christ.


5. If you could live anywhere in the world for a year, (cost not a factor) where would you go and why?

ITALY! The Mediterranean climate, FABULOUS food, close proximity to the ocean, rich history and culture would make it an amazing place to live! Plus, I could take weekend train trips to other European countries. And the icing on the cake? All those flirtatious Italian men! ;-p


6. What has been your favorite age so far and why?

I really enjoyed being 21. My junior year of college was one of the best years of my life! I lived with friends I love, and got to spend a summer abroad interning in London and traveling throughout Europe.


7. How would your describe yourself in 3 words?

Compassionate. Curious. Active.


8. What do you like most about yourself?
I’m grateful for my ability to make make and maintain meaningful, lasting friendships.
(How true!)


9. Favorite quote?
This one is well known, but I love it:

Dance as though no one is watching you,
Love as though you’ve never been hurt before,
Sing as though no one can hear you,
Live as though heaven is on earth!
(An oldie but a goodie!)

10. Favorite color?
Yellow!


11. If you could have an all expenses paid shopping spree at any store, which would it be?

Zara. It’s a store that originated in Spain, but now is in major US cities as well. I love their stylish, yet practical (and moderately priced) clothing!

12. If you could have one super human power, what would you choose?

The ability to be invisible! I would love to be a detective and help solve mysteries/crimes by listening in on other people’s conversations.


13. Who do you admire most?

My grandpa. He knew what it meant to live life to it’s fullest–with joy and passion, and without worry or regret.


14. Do you like to exercise indoors or outdoors?

Both! I think my best workouts are done indoors because I can regulate the intensity. But there’s nothing like a long, mind-clearing run outside!


15. What makes you laugh?
Being tickled, boy band dance parties in my pajamas, The Colbert Report, and funny faces

16. Say all your favorite bloggers were coming to dinner, what would you make?


I’d be a terrible hostess and wouldn’t make anything! I think it would be much more fun to have each of my guests bring a dish that best represents their cooking style/philosophy. What I love about the healthy-fit-food blogging community is that we all share our unique styles/tastes with one another!
(Who else is in for a blogger pot luck?!?)


17. If you knew you could be successful at any job in the world, what would you be?

I would love to be an actress. However only if I could do it without crazy paparazzi tracking my every move!


18. Vanilla or Chocolate?

Depends! Vanilla ice cream, hands down. Almost everything else chocolate.


19. Whole or crushed ice?

Whole because it doesn’t melt as fast. Not a fan of watery, diluted drinks!

20. Why did the chicken cross the road?

To escape the farm and avoid being made into chicken-pot-pie.
(Hee. Hee.)


Now that you guys know some fun tidbits about Sara, skip over to her blog and tell her how wonderful she is!






How did you find Sara @ Nourish and Flourish?

8 thoughts on “The Story of Me and Sara

Leave a Reply

