Copy Cat

I have been busy, busy, busy trying all of everyone’s wonderful recipes! And I still have a stack a mile high. Currently, I am typing with stained red fingers. I’m trying not to stain my white keyboard with them. 😉 More on that in a minute.

Let’s start off with the mysterious baked good I hinted at on my last post.
Erin’s Triple Chocolate Chunk Brownies! I will never make brownies from a box again after experiencing these. The only thing I did different was I added dark chocolate chunks to instead of milk chocolate. *Excuse me while I wipe the drool off my chin.*
Photobucket
After trying one, I knew I had to give these away to friends as soon as possible. Before I consumed the entire pan and spent the next week passed out with a (blissful) stomach ache. As Rachel Zoe would say, “I die.”
Went to PF Chang’s again. Here’s leftovers from the next day: coconut curry vegetables with chicken and Shanghai Street noodles. Is there anything on that menu that isn’t good?
Photobucket
The Shanghai Street Noodles were a new try for me and I liked them way more than I thought they would. Though the ginger and onions and cilantro lingered on my tongue long into the night! I was seriously considering ordering take-out from them tonight.
I’m still completely and madly in love with Green Monster Smoothies. I can’t go a day without one. Here’s a tip for you: red and green make brown.
Exhibit A:
Photobucket
1 ripe banana, two handfuls of spinach, a handful of strawberries, half a peach, ice, soy milk. Pretty!
Exhibit B:
Photobucket
Swamp sludge! It (of course) still tasted amazing. It was the best of both worlds: my favorite smoothie combination + spinach.
Here’s some farmer’s market goodies:
Photobucket
Nothing like local white cheddar. This did not survive a week.
Photobucket
Fresh yellow beans! Fresh beets! (I always have and still do heart beets. I think if I knew the end of the world was coming, I would stockpile cans upon cans upon cans of beets.)
I cooked the beets.
Photobucket
They look like little hot dogs to me! Though that could have just been my intense hunger after Body Pump. I literally wanted to eat a whole pizza and a hamburger and possibly my arm.
While I was waiting for the beets to cook, I ate half of some supermarket sushi:
Photobucket
Normally, I don’t particularly care for the packaged stuff like this, but I made the mistake of shopping when hungry. It decent though.
Photobucket
I give you Angela’s Beet Salad. Hence the red fingers.
The only things I changed from her recipe were that I didn’t add the apple and I used jarred mandarin oranges. The homemade vinaigrette is amazing! Sadly, I couldn’t eat all the salad but it hold up pretty well in the fridge for leftovers! I also had a side of Mary’s carrot fries. Those were super easy. Coat with olive oil and your choice of seasoning. Bake at 350 for 20 min and 425 for 10 min.
Lastly, I would like to share an accomplishment. Let me start by saying I hate taking pictures of myself. I feel like a weird-o. (Not that I think anyone else is for taking pictures of themselves, it just makes me feel insecure.) None the less I have acquired two guns.
Photobucket
Here’s one of them. See?? I guess all that mowing the lawn and Body Pump and pilates is paying off! I have actual muscle! I’m not sure why this picture makes my arm look ginormous and my head look small, but I can assure you this is not the case in real life. That’s what I get for using Photo Booth on my MacBook.
Now I’m off to do a little reading. Still deciding between Elle or more of The Host. Or maybe both!

What’s one of your favorite recipes (link please!)?

Do you like beets?

What summer read do you recommend?
7 thoughts on “Copy Cat

  1. Woohoo!! You have some great lookin' arms!! You should be so proud!! 🙂 You sure are cookin' lots of yummy recipes! I think I drooled when I saw that brownie… woahhhhhhh!! 🙂

  2. Sorry, can't get excited about the beets… Glad you enjoyed them, though! Your guns look great! Whoo hoo! I wish I could get motivated to body pump!Last week I made my favorite summer salad, and its on my blog (somewhere). Its chicken/pasta/grape yumminess! I'm going to have to try the brownies, I'm afraid. I'll tell you the secret with the brownies I make: cinnamon and a pinch of chili powder. Oh yeah, and REAL Mexican vanilla!

Leave a Reply

