It’s Gonna Be A Scorcher

Whew! It is finally H-O-T! What’s one to do?

Make a smoothie of course!
Photobucket

In went half a peach (peeled), half a banana, handful of strawberries, vanilla soy milk and ice.
Ok, ok, I also ate salmon salad for lunch.
Photobucket
I got the recipe from a Hungry Girl email, which I will now pass on to you!
Scoopy Salmon Salad
2 tbsp. Hellmann’s/Best Foods Dijonnaise (I just eyeballed some dijon mustard and mayo)
1 tbsp. fat-free cream cheese, room temperature
2 tsp. lemon juice
Dash each salt and black pepper, or more to taste
6 oz. canned or pouched boneless skinless pink salmon, drained and flaked
1/2 cup quartered cherry or grape tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped cucumber
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
1/2 tbsp. capers, drained (yuck! I didn’t add these)

Directions:
Combine Dijonnaise, cream cheese, lemon juice, salt, and black pepper in a bowl. Thoroughly mix until smooth. Add salmon and stir well. Add remaining ingredients and toss lightly to mix.

Since I only wanted one serving, I roughly halved the recipe. The lemon juice and the cream cheese really made the salad! They’d make really good wraps with some lettuce leaves too.
Later that night, I went to dinner with Sara and her friend Nora at P.F. Chang’s.
Photobucket
I was feeling fancy in my hot pink maxi dress (I tried to take a picture, but it was a major fail) and so I ordered:
Photobucket
Mahi Mahi on cilantro rice with lots of lemon grass. This was pure bliss. I ate the whole fish and plenty of the cilantro rice. It was a little pricey but sooo worth it! In fact, I want another one right now.
Friday, it was time for my yearly trip to the carwash. And a good vacuum (think: golden retrivers have lots of fur!). I planned “to get to the carwash early”. Early ended up being there about 10 am.
First I had breakfast:
Photobucket
Two eggs over medium on hearty whole grain toast. Plus nectar of the gods (orange juice).
After the carwash, it was time for my love/hate relationship with the lawn.
I love the exercise and sunshine from mowing, I hate the sun beating down on me, sweating like a pig, getting grimy with grass stuck all over me. Well, I haven’t given up and paid someone to do it for me yet. Probably because I love saving the money of doing it myself and hate the thought of someone else getting all the sunshine and exercise.
We have a decent sized lawn, so when I got done I was SO HOT and SO HUNGRY. First order of business was a cold shower with the hose.
Photobucket
For Hunter of course!
Oh, and I took one too, inside. Ahhhh.
Lunch was an Amy’s burrito and some cucumber.
Photobucket
If you haven’t tried these before, go out and try one asap! I also love how refreshing and crunchy cucumber is.
Lunch was followed by a dreamy peach mocktail:
Photobucket
After a nap and puttering around I decided that I was in no mood for cooking dinner.
Pizza it is!
Photobucket
Green peppers, onions, tomatoes, chicken, pineapple, black olives on a thin crust. (and yes, I had four pieces, but it was a small pizza and that is a small plate)
Against my will I also had a simple spinach and grape tomato salad with poppyseed dressing.
Photobucket
Sometimes, simple is best.
And now, if you’ll excuse me…
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
… I have some baking to do.
Photobucket
Photobucket
And a dog to walk.

What’s your favorite menu item from P.F. Chang’s?

Do you have a dog/pet? If so, what kind are they?

What are you doing to keep cool/out of the heat?
14 thoughts on “It’s Gonna Be A Scorcher

  1. Ahh, I can't pick ONE favorite from P.F. Chang's! Impossible! But some of my favorites include: seared ahi, salmon steamed with ginger and garlic, coconut curried vegetables and tofu lettuce wraps. :-)Yummy peach mocktail! That sounds like a great way to cool the body down in this crazy hot weather!Hunter is such a pretty boy! xoxo

  2. I've actually never eaten at P.F. Chang's, but the food looks really good! I have two cats. One thinks he's a dog (chases his tail, sheds everywhere, and fetches), and the other thinks he's a baby (sucks his paw like he's sucking a thumb and likes to be held like a baby). And lately, going to work has been the only thing getting me out of the heat. Ha, ha.

  3. i'm jealous you met sarah — she's so sweet!! i've never been to PF chang's and i don't have a dog 😦 to stay cool i've been staying inside or at the pool!!

  4. I just love Sara's blog! How fun that you got to meet her!! My favorite thing to order at PF Changs is their veggie lettuce wraps! I usually order them for my entree… sooooooo good!!I have 2 dogs. The male is a boxer mix and our female is a coonhound. Love them!Staying in the AC and drinking lots of water to stay cool!!

  5. I love P.F. Chang's because they'll customize your order just how you want it! It's been a while since I ate there but I think I remember getting their tofu and veggies simply steamed with not extra oils..and with extra veggies instead of rice. The spices they bring out are enough to make the dish taste spectacular. :)Oh, and to make the carrot fries..I toss/spray them with olive oil, add whatever seasonings, bake them for ~20 minutes at 350* and then ~10 at 425* if I have the time. Otherwise I'll stick them in there for a few minutes at 450*. but the two baking times give them a soft one the inside/crispy on the outside texture and really make them sweet. Yum!

  6. I love Hungry Girl recipes for the ease. I don't make them often but they have all turned out good. We have a mut. She is part lab and part pit bull. People are always scared of her but she is the biggest puss ever!

Leave a Reply

