Being healthy, fit and SAFE

Wow, this summer has flown by. Forget summer, this WEEK has flown by. I’ve been a little MIA. Oh, I’ve been around and reading everyone else’s amazing blogs. I just needed a rest from my own.

You know, summers aren’t the same as when you’re a kid. Everyone has to work and even though I’m not working, I’m still doing lots of work around the house. Sigh. I have this expectation that summer is supposed to be filled with so much fun that every day I’m “missing out”. Then I get out in the heat and decide to retreat back in to the cool, air conditioned house. And I know I won’t get any sympathy, because it’s not even humid here.

I’m trying to more actively count my blessings and be happy where I’m at. For example, I was reading Elle the other day and saw a swimsuit for $500 and thought “Holy cow! People actually spend that much on a swim suit?!?” Often in our society, we are encouraged to keep up with the Joneses. It can be so easy to think, I wish that I could justify spending money on those designer shoes or that bigger house or nicer car. Then I think how I’m already in the small percentage of the world to live in a 1st world country. Then I think about being a homeowner, having a husband who works really, really, REALLY hard so I can go back to school and so we can be financially set have kids. At the end of the day, stuff is just stuff. It’s the people you surround yourself that make you happy.
happy face Pictures, Images and Photos
Yikes. Ok, this was a little random, but it cracked me up! 😀
So I have to say that not working is enough to say summer’s been good thus far. After all, I took a trip to Oregon, this week I helped a friend paint a house, went to Roaring Springs with a friend, and Jeremy and I are taking a trip to Moab, UT in August.
I’m still trying to pull out of my lack of motivation funk, but I’ll get there. Jeremy and I made an agreement: no TV until I’ve worked out. Sure, I find other things to do such as reading, napping, cooking and cleaning (I completely cleaned our bedroom, bath room and closet one day) to procrastinate. After a while though, I’ve been thinking about everything I can do to NOT workout that I just do it so I don’t have to think about putting it off any longer. Make sense?
Today, I did a circuit training DVD with Jackie Warner. I can feel the soreness already.
Photobucket
Jackie does not mess around. Jackie. kicks. my. butt every. single. time. This is one of the best strength training/work up a sweat that soaks the carpet beneath you home DVD’s out there. So on days when driving to the gym isn’t going to happen, this is a perfect solution.
For the first time in my life, I’ve been on a strength training kick more than cardio. I think I just haven’t had the attention span for it. And it’s hot outside. Hot driving to the gym. Hot in the gym. Running when you’re already hot is not fun. I could get up early before it got hot. Yeah, but don’t hold your breath.
My eating habits have been in a great place. That’s half the battle, right? I think summer brings out those cravings for fresh, whole food. I’ve become serious best friends with Green Monsters.
Photobucket
I’ve gotten a little more adventurous and added watermelon to one and blueberry (pictured) to another. In fact, I even convinced Jeremy (who does NOT do vegetables, much less any green ones) to try them for a week. And you won’t miss out, I will be documenting it! 😉
Another common breakfast has been Fiber One.
Photobucket
With a banana sliced up into it. I just can’t get into hot breakfasts in the summer.
One thing I always eat if presented to me but don’t seek it out is sprouts. I weirdly had a craving for them the other day. So I bought some for the first time in my life.
Photobucket
Mmm… I’ve been in a sandwich mania. Sprouts went perfectly with my egg salad and avocado sandwich.
Apparently, there are different types of sprouts. There were three kinds when I was choosing mine at the store. I picked the one labeled “deli”. Some health benefits of sprouts are:
1. Rich in antioxidants.
2. Rich in vitamins A, C and selenium.
3. Contain calcium, phosphorous, magnesium, iron, zinc, folate and vitamin B.
4. Low in sodium but high in potassium.
Sometimes I actually feel like cooking. Like a healthier Cheeseburger Pasta. You never let me down, Can You Stay For Dinner?
Photobucket
It wouldn’t be summer without a little ice cream, right? I decided to give Haagen Dazs Five a try. Surely, by now you’ve seen this sweet little treat with only 5 ingredients.
Photobuckete
I chose the lemon flavor. In one word this tastes very pure. You can literally taste each ingredient (well, maybe not the eggs). The serving size is 1/2 cup and since it is so satisfying it’s easy to only eat that much!
Photobucket
Especially when paired with a ripe nectarine. SO good. The tart of the nectarine and the lemon ice cream compliment each other very well.
One last thing for today. The other night I was driving home after dark and I saw a girl running in the dark. Please, please, PLEASE no matter how safe you think your neighborhood is, don’t do this. Just. don’t. do it.
Here’s a couple of other safety tips I think every woman should read again and again.
1. Don’t sit in your car in a parking lot. Get in your car and drive away. You are a sitting duck to predators because generally, you are not paying attention to your surroundings.
2. When driving, especially at night, lock your car doors. It’s very easy for a stranger to approach you at a red light, get into your car and put a gun to your head.
3. Make eye contact. Generally, predators look for easy, passive targets. When you make eye contact, it says “I see you, I’ve seen your face, and I can identify you”. Attackers will likely avoid anyone who might be able to identify them.
4. Look around you. Pay attention to your surroundings. When you are aware of who is around you, you can also notice anything or anyone suspicious.
5. Be mean. By all means, be a bitch. I don’t use that word often but I mean it. Predators will play on the sympathies of women, asking for the time, directions, help with their car, lost puppy whatever. This also goes for if a stranger is approaching you or you’ve been attacked.
6. Be aggressive. You can shout “stay away!” if you feel they are advancing toward you. If you’re attacked, go for soft spots, such as groin, stomach, throat, and eyes. Be as forceful as you possibly can.
7. Run. Even if he has a gun. Chances are, a predator will only hit a moving target 4 out of 100 shots.
8. Trust your gut. If you feel uncomfortable, or get a bad feeling about a stranger, you have a reason for feeling so. Move quickly and confidently.
And last but not least, to quote my dad: “You’re not paranoid if they’re really out to get you. Better paranoid than dead.”
Photobucket
Be a tough girl, like Michelle Rodriguez.
Kind of a serious note but things can happen anywhere, anytime. Don’t think that it won’t happen to you. Turn on the news. Things happen to people everyday that they thought would never happen to them. We women needs to stick together!!
Not sure what the plans are for the weekend. Probably planting some flowers and perhaps a trip to the farmer’s market. Happy weekend everyone! 🙂

Do you like sprouts?

What’s your favorite ice cream?

What’s your best safety tip?
13 thoughts on “Being healthy, fit and SAFE

  1. Loved those safety tips. I think it's important for us girls to really be aware of our surroundings! I've never tried Haagen Dazs Five , but now I want to!! I've also never tried a Green Monster, but I need to try one of those too. Ha, ha.

  2. I love that Jackie workout DVD! I haven't done it in awhile, but it is definitely one of my favorites!!That is such a great sandwich idea… egg salad and avocado, yummmmmm!! So healthy and DELICIOUS!! I like sprouts, but for some reason I read that pregnant women aren't supposed to eat them? Not sure why?? Have a great weekend!! 🙂

  3. i love strength training more than cardio now too. i actually dread doing cardio. i get so bored!! i recently read that sprouts are really really good for you. who knew!? they look like grass to me! heeh. my favorite ice cream …oh gosh so hard. i love cookie dough, cookies and cream…or anything w/ toffee. 🙂 have a great weekend!

  4. loving simple moments- thanks for visiting! Check out http://greenmonstermovement.com/ for tons of yummy recipes. homecookedem- I think sprouts are one of those things (like spinach) that can very easily be contaminated with ecoli, which is why pregnant women shouldn't eat themChristina- cookie dough is on my top five favorites for sure!

  5. Great safety tips!!! My Dad just always told me to be alert. Always be looking around you and don't get distracted! I LOVE sprouts…they make sandwiches taste so much better! Favorite ice cream is cookies and cream. It has been my favorite oh since I was 5. I love it!

  6. Thanks for all the great tips! I find I'm often sitting in my car looking up directions, etc. Maybe I should change that, hmmm?And I TOTALLY know what you mean about summers being different now. It's such a bummer. I wish we could have all day lazily to run and play and not care about anything until September :)Oh well! I guess it's nice to be self-sufficient and have $$ to do the (limited) things I want haha 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your weekend, girl!

  7. Your safety tips are awesome girl! And I so agree with everything that you said in the beginning about stuff being stuff. My husband has been on a mission trip overseas before and talked about how life changing it is to see other people with so much less material things be so happy and content. So we want to try to go on one in the near future. Enjoy the rest of your Summer!

  8. Hey Meg! That sandwich looks yummy–I love sprouts! Put some in your green monster, its a great source of protein! (I think bean sprouts are higher in protein than alfalfa, but I always see alfalfa sprouts and not bean in the store)I'm not supposed to have ice cream anymore, now that I am diabetic. Thank Heaven for sugar-free/fat-free frozen yogurt, right? But I would have a hard time picking my favorite, anyway! I love them all…The safety tip I always stand by is to carry your keys laced through your fingers with the keys poking out, in case you have to swing at an attacker, you have some metal. Also, check under your car as you walk up to it, in case someone is underneath. That always seemed a stretch to me, but I guess there are cases of ankle-slashing attackers. You can't run if your achilles is cut.Thanks a MILLION for helping me out the other day (and night). I never would have finished without everyone's help!

  9. Ahhhhh so many comments I want to make!First, I LOVE that Jackie Warner DVD. You're right, it's a total butt-kicker.Second, I've been wanting to make that Cheeseburger Pasta from Andrea! She's a genius, no?And finally, thanks for posting those safety tips. Always good reminders! Have a great day! 🙂

  10. Ahhhhh so many comments I want to make!First, I LOVE that Jackie Warner DVD. You're right, it's a total butt-kicker.Second, I've been wanting to make that Cheeseburger Pasta from Andrea! She's a genius, no?And finally, thanks for posting those safety tips. Always good reminders! Have a great day! 🙂

  11. loving simple moments- thanks for visiting! Check out http://greenmonstermovement.com/ for tons of yummy recipes. homecookedem- I think sprouts are one of those things (like spinach) that can very easily be contaminated with ecoli, which is why pregnant women shouldn't eat themChristina- cookie dough is on my top five favorites for sure!

  12. I love that Jackie workout DVD! I haven't done it in awhile, but it is definitely one of my favorites!!That is such a great sandwich idea… egg salad and avocado, yummmmmm!! So healthy and DELICIOUS!! I like sprouts, but for some reason I read that pregnant women aren't supposed to eat them? Not sure why?? Have a great weekend!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

