I Like Green

Green is on of my favorite colors. I’m pretty good about eating dark green veggies such as broccoli, kale, green beans, spinach… Speaking of spinach, there’s been a certain beverage that is making everyone crazy over.
Photobucket
Yup. Green Monster. I’m not a picky eater by any means. But spinach? In a drink? No way, nuh-uh, not gonna happen. Then I came across Angela from Oh She Glows. She has a whole website dedicated to green monsters. There was a recipe for a Virgin Green Monster. Ok maybe I could handle that. It only had 5 ingredients. Flax seed, spinach, banana, milk (I used soy) and ice.
Photobucket
I had the perfect banana: a few spots = smoothies only
Measured the flax. (Not pictured)
Photobucket
Added spinach and banana and soy milk. I used light vanilla soy milk by 8th Continent (they changed their packaging! Did anyone else notice this when panicking in the dairy section?) because it’s a little sweeter than cow’s milk.
(Speaking of soy milk, a quick yay and horray to my hubby who recently gave the stuff a try! Yay Jeremy!)
Photobucket
Giving it a try. Yes, this is what I look like when I wake up in the morning. Hmm, I’ve grown a few more freckles overnight.
It took a glass and a half, but I drank the entire concoction. It tasted like a thin banana milkshake with a little more… texture. Not bad. Not bad at all! ๐Ÿ˜€
Something else I have been known to avoid? Watermelon. I realized that I like eating it, I just don’t like having to carve it like a pumpkin first. Until I discovered these babies:
Photobucket
Those little mini melons might be a little more money but to me it’s worth it. My tips for finding a good watermelon are heavy for it’s size and when you pat it with your hand, it should sound pretty hollow.

With the summer heat, I’ve been on a bit of a sandwich kick. I can feel it just getting started. My newest treat: almond butter and agave on a whole wheat tortilla folded in half. I also gave in to my ultimate summer favorite:

Photobucket
The hamburger.
Photobucket
With melted fresh mozzarella, dill pickle, tomato and a fat leaf of Romaine.
I also had the best tuna sandwich of my life. New secret: add a little light sour cream and less mayo. This was also one of the messiest but it seems the messier the sandwich, the better it tastes.
Photobucket
In the tuna mix I also added salt, pepper, garlic powder and a spoonful of relish. Topped with tomato, spinach and avocado. Avocado makes a great replacement for cheese because of it’s creaminess.
A couple of other summer induced cravings included baked beans and deviled eggs.
Photobucket
Photobucket
And I made a peach mocktail:
Photobucket
I added half a packet of Ocean Spray white cran-peach, about a cup of water, 1/3 can of Sprite and 1/4 peach (that’s what the confetti flecks in the glass are.. peach skin!) and some ice. Gave it a whirl in the Magic Bullet and out came of refreshing drink. Perfect after I spent 2 hours mowing the lawn.
Now I’m off to wash the truck, pick up a new toy for Hunter, read my Women’s Health mag that came a few days ago and download some new iTunes. My current favorite work-out tunes include: Evacuate The Dancefloor- Cascada, Puakenikeni- Nicole Shertzinger, Walk It Out- Unk, Brain Stew- Greenday and Unstoppable- Kat DeLuna & Lil Wayne!
Have you tried green monsters? What’s your favorite combination?

What’s your trick to finding a good melon?

What are some of your favorite work-out tunes?

7 thoughts on “I Like Green

  1. Mary- I feel the same way with some of my music. Nothing like working out feeling a little bad A!Autumn- Do it! I was pleasantly surprised. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

