Busy Weekend and Lazy Monday

Now that I’m not working, my body seems to have found a comfortable schedule of falling asleep at 2am and waking up at 11am. This really has to stop. I sure am enjoying it while it lasts though. I’m sure a Body Pump class at 6 am would cure me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Saturday afternoon (when I’d been up for exactly 2 hours) I met up with Sara at the farmer’s market downtown. I hadn’t been in YEARS and didn’t quite know where to begin. There were so many stands of fresh produce, jewelry, even one stand that had these pretty serving spoons. I might have to go back and get one for my mom. I only brought a small amount of cash so that I wouldn’t overspend.
First I bought some kale:
Photobucket
I love greens!
Collard greens are my favorite (thanks to my family in Alabama and yes I also like black eyed peas). I knew that dark leafy greens were a good source of iron so I wondered what the other health benefits were. According to Wikipedia, it is also a good source of vitamin C, vitamin K, and Caroteniods (which provide Vitamin A). Usually, I steam them and add a little red wine vinegar but I’m going to try a new recipe so stay tuned.
Next up:
Blue cheese dressing to DIE for!
Photobucket
It’s made by a company called Boise Bleu and there is nothing like it. I could probably drink the whole jar. Instead I politely gobbled up a handful of carrots dipped in it.
Lastly, some locally made granola bars. I just love local businesses.
Photobucket
Scott’s Loaded Granola Bars
Triple Berry, Pistachio Cherry, Blackberry Lime
Then we went to the Co-op and had a lovely lunch outside.
Photobucket
I got the chicken salad sandwich with lettuce, red onion, sprouts and tomato. They make the best sandwiches.
I did some shopping at the Co-op and headed home.
Photobucket
PB Puffins, coconut flour, spelt bread, white chocolate syrup, Amy’s stuffed pasta shells and agave. I’m a sugar fiend, I know.
At home, I immediately tested out the white chocolate syrup with strawberries.
Photobucket
Num. Num. The syrup is not thick and heavy so it wasn’t overpowering at all. Just the perfect touch of sweetness.
I also bought some flowers to spruce up our house.
These go inside:
Photobucket
Aren’t orchids gorgeous?
These go in the front yard:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Still have to plant these babies!
Photobucket
These were already in the front yard but I thought they were pretty:
Photobucket
Does anyone know what they are? I’d like to go get some more for the back yard.
These did go in the back yard:
Photobucket
I skipped pilates today (gasp!) but I did mow the lawn which is just as good. It’s nice to be outside. I need a hammock so I can take an afternoon nap out there. ๐Ÿ™‚ Horray for summer days!
How did you spend your weekend?

What are some of your favorite local products?
5 thoughts on “Busy Weekend and Lazy Monday

  1. I need to hang out with YOU on the weekends! How dreamy! Have you made green smoothies with your greens yet? I have been really awful lately, because I've been too broke to indulge my habit for about a month. But they are awesome in smoothies, and you don't lose any vitamins or minerals that you can lose in cooking and juicing! Can't wait to hear your recipes!

  2. Ahh, I want to come over and try that white chocolate sauce!! Or maybe I should just go buy some for myself, because I KNOW I'd love it!Pretty plants! Gardening is something I've always wanted to try my hand at. :-)Favorite produce? Anything and everything! If it's fresh, I love it!

  3. I need to hang out with YOU on the weekends! How dreamy! Have you made green smoothies with your greens yet? I have been really awful lately, because I've been too broke to indulge my habit for about a month. But they are awesome in smoothies, and you don't lose any vitamins or minerals that you can lose in cooking and juicing! Can't wait to hear your recipes!

Leave a Reply

