Viva La Vegetables!

Pardon my horrible French. 😉

Today was my first day of freedom from work. Man, I miss having the summers off.
I started the morning at oh, 11:30 AM? Truth is, I woke up about 9:30 then laid in bed talking to my Honey and playing around on my new laptop.
So when I finally got up I was off to a late (but wonderful) start. Breakfast was a quick bowl of Fiber One Honey Clusters with half soy and half non fat organic milk. Though it is fine by itself, I like it better with bananas. Everything is better with bananas. (Note to self: buy bananas!)
With breakfast being so late, I didn’t sit down to lunch until about 4. For lunch I had some cheese pizza and a spinach salad with orange bell pepper, organic shredded carrot, and cucumber.
Photobucket
Also two small and delicious peaches with some light vanilla Activia yogurt, topped with Grape Nuts. My Honey likes to call Grape Nuts gravel. I actually really, really like them though. 🙂
Photobucket
There was a little bit of brownie and some vanilla yogurt blends ice cream a little later…
And then to pilates! The Monday night instructor kicks my butt every time! I was one of the last to come in, so I got to be right at the front. 🙂
Dinner was done just before 9 pm. I had been looking forward to trying this recipe for a while, and finally FINALLY had a chance (and all the ingredients) to put it together.
Taco-Stuffed Pepper Cups
(adapted from Dashing Dish)
2 medium bell peppers, any color
1/2 pound lean ground beef (she used ground turkey, but I was craving beef)
2 tbs chopped onion
1 can black beans, drained
1 can corn, drained
1 c. salsa (I used peach pineapple salsa, though it seems like a strange choice, it blended well with the other flavors)
3 tbs. taco seasoning
1/4 c. reduced fat cheddar cheese (I accidentally picked up fat free, which worked in a pinch, but kind of tastes like plastic)
1/4 plain greek yogurt (it’s a great replacement for sour cream!)
shredded lettuce
sliced black olives
1. Preheat oven to 350. Wash bell peppers, cut out tops, and remove seeds. Boil for about 3 minutes, remove and immediately rinse with cold water. Slice each pepper in half and arrange in a lightly greased baking dish.
2. Spray large pan with olive oil cooking spray, and turn to medium high heat. Add onion and ground beef until the ground beef is no longer pink. Add black beans, corn, salsa and taco seasoning. Simmer uncovered for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat.
3. Spoon mixture into each pepper half, (for some reason I ended up with a lot left over, but not to worry, I can make taco salad with the leftovers!) top with cheese and back on the upper rack for about 10 minutes.
4. Once the peppers are removed from the oven, I added greek yogurt, lettuce and olives.
I also made slow roasted sweet potatoes, which was surprisingly complimentary to the stuffed peppers. Lots of color and lots of veggies!
Photobucket
Unfortunately, you can’t see much of the pepper in this photo. Moving on.
For a little bedtime snack, I had a bran muffin with some butter, and a glass of chocolate milk. Mmmm!
Do you like Grape Nuts? Do you ever replace sour cream with Greek yogurt?
Leave a Reply

