Greatest Weaknesses = Greatest Strengths

I was reading Elle Magazine’s body issue and noticed that a few other bloggers have recently written about acceptance of our bodies. So here comes my two cents on the subject! ๐Ÿ™‚

I was thinking about the things I don’t like about my body. You know, those tiny things that no one else really notices, but they seem so obvious to me. Then, I thought one step further about how those things I didn’t like could be turned positive.
1. My teeth- I never had braces, and though I have a bit of an overbite, they’re fairly straight, but a few of them could be a little straighter.
Photobucket
Here’s me at my birthday at Joe’s Crab Shack this past February.
The upside? I have amazing teeth. Seriously, my dentist says those exact words every 6 months. I’ve never, ever had a cavity and rarely use any type of whitening product (besides toothpaste). Pretty lucky.
2. I’m pear shaped, which means my hips are wider than my chest. Which also means J-Lo and I have a booty in common.
Photobucket
This is me last summer in Mexico. I’d done a good job of really toning up. To post this is to say I accept my hips, not airbrushed or photoshopped.
People who gain weight in their hips instead of their stomach are less likely to develop diabetes or heart disease. Ok, I’ll take it! Here’s also an article from Women’s Health for Workout for Pear Shaped Bodies.
3. Lips- I used to get made fun of for my lips. They didn’t seem to fit my face. Now, no worries about drawing them on with lipstick or applying plumping gloss. These babies are au natural!
Photobucket
Seeing how small my insecurities really are helps me to “get over myself” and worry about bigger things in life!
How did you turn your insecurities into something positive?
2 thoughts on “Greatest Weaknesses = Greatest Strengths

Leave a Reply

