Pass the Pesto!

Ok, June 1st… forecast? Clouds and light rain. Uhm, seriously? Don’t get me wrong, I spent nearly two years living in Victoria, BC (that’s in Canada near Seattle, y’all) where it rains all year long. I like rain. I really, really do. But for goodness sake! It’s JUNE in IDAHO!

Despite the sprinkling rain, I decided to try something new today. Vanilla Greek yogurt with raspberries! Normally, I don’t care too much for raspberries. I was craving them today though, go figure. Speaking of figure, look what I figured out today!

Photobucket

Alright, I already knew how to put picture codes in my blog, I was just lazy, and it had been a little while. Pat myself on the back nontheless.

So besides the rain, I was just having a grumpy day. My dog ate a bunch of used Kleenex (pretty sure you don’t want me to tell you how I found out), late for work, no motivation AT work since I have exactly 3 days left before I quit to return to school, wacky hormones, soreness from dirt biking over the weekend.

I REALLY wanted to order pizza and admit defeat. Still, I can’t let all my wonderful produce spoil, so I mustered up the courage to cook. You know what? I felt better. Sometimes, when days are stressful, the thought of cooking stresses me out more. I learned something today. Cooking relieves stress, at least for me. By the time I finished, it was after 7, but I felt relaxed. Which meant I wasn’t going to eat away the stresses of the day but actually enjoy my food.

So I made:

Photobucket

Instant Chicken and White Bean Stew

A little ridiculous for June, but the forecast said low 60’s. It ended up being about 75 today, those weathermen don’t know what they’re talking about. C’est la vie!

Oh, right, the recipe:

1 small sweet onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp olive oil
2 c. reduced-sodium chicken broth
2 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced (I think I used 2 large ones, *shrug*)
1 can cannellini beans, drained
1/8 tsp. black pepper
1 1/2 c. cooked diced chicken (once again, the Foster Farms frozen chicken strips from Costco came to my rescue!)
2 tbs prepared pesto

1. In a (good sized) nonstick skillet, over medium heat, cook the onion and garlic in oil until soft. Add the zucchinni, and cook for a few minutes (remember, the zucchini will continue to cook while you’re simmering the stew) then add the beans, and pepper. Heat to boiling, boil 2 minutes.

2. Add the chicken, return just to boiling for a few minutes, then remove from heat. Add the pesto. Let stand for 2 to 3 minutes to blend the flavors.

I only wish I had a little fresh Parmesean to sprinkle on top! Next time, I’ll use more garlic because well, I can’t get enough of that stuff.

I also made pierogies! If you haven’t tried these you are MISS-ING OUT!

Photobucket

These are basically whipped potatoes with cheddar (or onion, or bacon depending on the flavor) inside a pasta shell. They are thought to have started in the Slavic region, so you’ll find them in Ukrainian restaurants and the like. I bought mine frozen, then you boil them for about 3-5 minutes, then immediately transfer them into a hot pan drizzled with olive oil. Brown both sides until slightly crispy. Delish. Traditionally, they are cooked with bacon and onions and served with lots of sour cream. I chose to forgo the bacon and onions and served them with light sour cream blended with Greek yogurt.

Photobucket

I also had a small side salad with orange bell pepper, romaine, spinach, avocado, cucumber, tomato, fresh ground pepper and poppy seed dressing.

And for a late night snack while writing this blog, my two favorite summer fruit:

Photobucket

Pineapple and strawberries with some Tru Whip!

6 thoughts on “Pass the Pesto!

  1. Meg, I am so proud of you for making gourmet meals for yourself! I would be tempted to make sandwiches for myself every night if I didn't have to cook for everyone! I want to try your recipe!

  2. Well I don't know about gourmet, but I really like to cook, even though I have to eat it for a whole week! Still, there are some days I eat eggs or cereal for dinner!

  3. Well I don't know about gourmet, but I really like to cook, even though I have to eat it for a whole week! Still, there are some days I eat eggs or cereal for dinner!

Leave a Reply

