Oh summer… where are you?


So it’s the end of May here, and still, the temperatures are in the 50’s one day, then nearly 80, and then right back down again. What is up with that?

Despite my last two posts, I don’t sit around eating cake all the time!

One day it’s cool enough for a good soup, and the next, I don’t even want near the stove. Today was supposed to be warm and sunny, so I finally made a delightful chicken salad for dinner. Kudos to my friend Sara for introducing me to Galeo’s Miso Sesame dressing. While you can’t buy it here, you can on the website. I did give a bottle to a friend who has a friend who owns a gluten free store locally. So maybe it will be coming to Idaho!

Galeo’s Chicken Salad
(note: I did copy this off of a recipe on the website, but changed it just a bit)

1/2 pink lady apple, diced
1/2 head shredded green cabbage
1 c. shredded carrot (I went the easy way and bought some pre-shredded organic carrot)
1/4 c. chopped walnuts (easily found in the bulk section)
1 c. chopped cooked chicken (you can either use leftover chicken or buy the pre-cooked grilled chicken strips. I get mine at Costco)
Add Galeo’s sesame dressing to taste!

Next time, I think I’ll add some red cabbage for more color, maybe some raisins, and some cracked pepper.

I made this based on my tastes, less apple and less walnut, more carrot. So play around with it to suit your liking! 🙂

One thought on “Oh summer… where are you?

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog! I'm sorry to hear your husband is gone right now…mine got back in December. It's tough having them gone! I admire your ability to still cook fun things while he's away though…I pretty much survived on frozen food and cereal the whole time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

