A day of firsts





I’ve been meaning to mention more recipes here, but lately I have been blah when it came to trying anything new. My work was having a birthday luncheon and I wanted a chance to showcase my baking skills, so I volunteered to bake a cake. Super! Wait. What cake am I going to make that doesn’t contain 1,000 calories a serving, but still tastes super good.

Luckily, a while ago my friend Sara made this impressive angel food and Heath bar cake for a birthday. I knew that would be the perfect choice. There was only one tiny concern: I’d never attempted to make angel food cake. Surprise, I know. I bought two boxes, just in case. Luckily, I got it right the first time!

I get home, and realized that the bundt pan I bought was slightly smaller than what was required for the entire box, so I just poured the remaining batter in a loaf pan. Luckily, my guestimations came out just right. Tah dah! my first angel food cake! I had already wrapped it up before I took the picture, but you can see it isn’t burned and after a little coaxing, came out in one piece! If I remember, I’ll take a picture of the final product tomorrow.

I do, however have a picture of the remining batter baked in the loaf pan. A (not so) mini strawberry dessert with a bit of real whipped cream. I am enjoying it as I type. Mmmm!

And speaking of fresh fruits, I got my very own first gardening book today. “Starter Vegetable Gardens” by Barbara Pleasant.

For a little change I tried making some slow roasted sweet potatoes to go along with my (whole wheat) spaghetti and broccoli dinner. I decided to try it after reading this blog. Surprisingly easy:

1 sweet potato cut into thick slices
1/2 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. In a bowl, toss potatoes in oil, salt and pepper.
2. Line a baking sheet with tin foil. Lay the potatoes flat on the sheet.
3. Bake for 30 minutes, then turn oven up to 400 F for an additional 20 minutes.
4. (p.s. remove the potatoes from the sheet when you pull them out of the oven, or they’ll stick!)
Mmmmm!

So there you have it: a day of firsts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

