Less TV, More Books

Back in my first blog, I mentioned I wanted to read more books and watch less TV.

So it is now April and I have not read a single book. Somehow, I have accumulated more TV shows.

-LOST is back, and with 4 episodes left forever, they gotta a lotta ‘splaining to dooo!

-The Biggest Loser isn’t the most exciting, but watching the transformation of each contestant is truly inspiring. It also makes me grateful for my own physical health.

-ANTM is Wednesday night guilty pleasure. I swear that they are getting skinnier and skinnier each season. More on my opinion of that in another blog. One that’s been much more personal and difficult to write.

-Bang for your Buck was one that it took me a while to warm up to. However, since we moved into our house, I have learned some good decorating ideas, and enjoy trying to guess which renovation gets the most bang for its buck.

-Mystery Diagnosis. I could watch this show all day everyday. It describes cases with rare diseases that take within a few months to several decades to properly diagnose! I’ll eat dinner and watch this show at the same time and not give it a second thought.

-RHWONY, and soon RHWONJ. That’s Real Housewives of New York and New Jersey for you non-Bravo addicts. I like Theresa from NJ the best.

BUT WAIT!!!


This was supposed to be about books! Ok, unfortunately, I do not have nearly as many books as TV shows, but hopefully the list will grow.


The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein


This is the story about a dog named Enzo who thinks he is almost human. Jeremy and I have been reading it together (read: I have been reading chapters to Jeremy). It is really a delight to see things from “a dog’s perspective” and reminds us often of our own golden retriever, Hunter. The perspective often makes us laugh at the simplistic thoughts but also his courageous and determined spirit. Ironically, Enzo also loves TV, which is where he does much of his learning.

Jesus the Christ by James Edward Talmage

For a little more heavy reading I actually bought this book before Christmas. Then we moved. Things seem to on their own free will. Luckily, I was looking for my rain jacket the other night (no, I didn’t find it) and ran accross this book. It’s one of those that you need a dictionary to accompany reading it. Never one to be intimidated by a book like this (as long as it’s not for school, with a deadline to read it by) I’ll take my time reading through it. It’s about the life and ministry of Jesus Christ. Quite a thick read. Talk to me when I’ve finished it in 3 years.

Leave a Reply

